How to Get Yourself Ranked on Google – SEO – More of the Story

fs0keszarwgayfsqipjcnatuo-google-analytics-logo

In a way, I feel that I have been charmed. A couple of years ago, Google decided that it liked me, and that has made all of the difference in my  online presence. I would like to take a few minutes and tell you how Google found me and decided to be my friend.

watercolor-janis-1-facebook-image1

I began blogging 2.5 years ago. At that time, my intention was to create an online gallery for peddling my paintings, and somewhere I had read that I needed to attract attention to my site. I researched various types of blogs, and I elected to launch a WordPress blog.

At that time, I knew that many people would be interested in free tutorials for Photoshop and for Adobe Illustrator, and to draw people to my site, I initially created many tutorials for the Adobe products. From the earliest date, however, I also began to blog about something else that I felt I knew a little bit about. For my first graduate degree in English, I wrote about William Blake, and at some time past, I did feel passionate about the Romantic ideals and about how the experienced and emotionally bankrupt adult of the world had stripped life of its emotion, energy, intuitiveness, and imagination.

It had been a long time since I had written that thesis, but I began to write posts about the loss of imagination and the Waste Land that resulted from the loss of feeling. Unlike the Adobe tutorials, these posts required that I actually write, and that was something that I had not done for quite some time. I was stunned by the number of readers that I attracted through those earliest posts.

I attribute the fact that anyone read those earliest posts to Google. Somewhere, I had read that I needed to tag my posts and that by tagging, I would draw viewers. Like a child in elementary school, I did as I was told, and it worked. Strangers began to find my blog site. But I began to realize that my cart and my horse were totally confused. Although I did use the Adobe products myself and although at one time, I had studied William Blake, that was not what I was trying to sell 2.5 years ago. For a while, I simply quit blogging, but the Adobe tutorials continued to draw viewers.

In October of 2015, I decided to return to my writing, and I plunged into writing, as a form of expression. It was as though a cork had been released. If you look at the following graph, you can see that in October of 2015, I wrote a lot of posts, and because I had learned how to tag my posts and because Google had already found me, people read my creative writing, too.

stats-october-2015

I continued to write in November, but shortly after that, I became ill and did not write much again until May. In July, I decided to move forward with a project that I had begun before I became ill, and that project was the Mine Your Memories Writing Event.

At some time during the fall of 2o15 or during early winter of 2016, I began responding to the WordPress Daily Prompt, and because of that effort, my writing improved, I attracted a relatively large number of readers, and I also attracted several followers. And again, some of my success was because of Google–and some of it was because of the WordPress Groupies.

Largely because of my responding to the WordPress Prompts I amassed a large number of posts that were just a few steps shy of being the fodder for several books. In July, I decided to make a huge commitment to getting those books published.

For a moment, I want to remind you of the purpose of this particular post. While I acknowledge that WordPress has helped me to create the content that I needed to fill a book, Google is largely how people found my writing. Allow me to return to my desire to tell you how to market on Google.

It might often seem that Google is out to “get” us or that if we want to be seen on the Gooogle search pages, we need to fool everyone–including Google. That could not be farther from the truth. Just think about it: It is in Google’s best interest that WE are found on the Internet–via their Search Engine, and because of that fact, Google has provided tools to help our sites become better searched.

The sophisticated Google Keyword tool can help you increase your STATS.

I plan to create an Ebook about marketing on Google. Here is a sneak preview, and below the video, I am sharing some of the tips that are already prepared.

[By the way, PowToon is an easy way to reach people on YouTube, and you add metadata on PowToon in the same ways that I outline below].

I’ll take you through the process step by step

  1. Click on the Keyword Planner link The Free Google Keyword Planner can be found Here.
google_keyword_tootl
How to Use the Google Keyword Planner Tool Step 1

2. In the Search Window, beneath the word Option, enter the word or word phrase for which you want to see Google’s search statistics. I entered Depression Era

google_keyword_tool
How to Use Google Keyword Planner Step 2

The chart tells me 2 important things. If I hover over the last tab, I’ll see that during the month of September 2015, the phrase Depression Era was searched 1900 times. That is not good. I also saw that the interest in the Depression Era has been steadily waning over the past year–with only a bit of an increase in September.

3. I decided to try another search term and just entered the word “Depression.”

Kaboom! That word was searched 5,601,850 times. I thought that I had reached mecca–until I did a bit more investigation and discovered that Google was talking about an emotional illness, and I was talking about a period in history. Be certain that you and Google are talking about the same thing.

4. I then entered the word 1920s and saw that 5,400 had searched that term in September, and I also saw that the interest in that topic is declining. That makes sense. the 1920s Depression era is a time of nostalgia for people who are fairly old now, and that generation is not as active on the Internet as younger generations are.

5. I entered the word 1950s and saw that 33,100 had searched the 1950s in September. That also makes sense. Now, the baby boomers are the ones getting older and more nostalgic, and the baby boomers are quite active on the Internet.

6. This presents a bit of a conundrum for me. I am writing a Memoir that will reflect the tales of my 1950s childhood, and I am also relating tales from my parents’ 1920s childhood. In addition, I’ll be adding snippets from my great aunt’s memoir, and she was a child in the 1890s. The word that is a common denominator for these areas is the word Memoir.

7. I searched the word Memoir and saw that 60,500 people had searched that term in September of 2015 and that the trend is rising.

This tells me that Memoir is still of interest to people. It also tells me to include the word Memoir every place that I can, when I am blogging. That will help Google find me when I write.

If you are blogging on WordPress, there is a place to add tags. That is where you should write all of the topics that Google might like that relate to your post of the day. The way that you tag is the way that you use metadata. If you create YouTube videos, there are similar places to tag your videos.

This past week in my Memoir Writing Class, one of the students asked if all of this tagging and seeking to establish an online presence is important. The reality is that it is. I hate taking the time to tag my posts, and I have not done that for the past several weeks. As I write this post, I am making a commitment to tag my posts and to play the online search game. I suggest that you do the same.

©Jacki Kellum July 30, 2016

 

 

4 thoughts on “How to Get Yourself Ranked on Google – SEO – More of the Story

  1. Good info here. I use tags…and on WP, I also use categories (which organize posts on your blog). Tell me…do you know if categories also act as tags for Google?

    Like

    1. That is a great question. At one time, I believed that they did, but I currently believe that only tags work that way. I’ll check into that, however. As I said, that is a great question.

      Like

Leave a Reply

