How to Send an Email on Gmail

In another post, I’ll tell you how to set up a Gmail account, but in this post, I’ll show you how to send an email, once you have set up your account. You can go to your Gmail account by typing the following in the address bar: https://www.gmail.com

0b

In the image below, you will see where the address bar is located on your computer screen.

0a

 

f you have downloaded the free app or program Google Chrome,and if that is set as your Home page, you will probably see the word “Gmail” at the top right of your screen. Click on the word “Gmail.”

1b

1d

The image below shows where the word “Gmail” would be on your  screen

1c.png

Once you are in Gmail, you will see the word “Compose” on the upper left corner.

2.png

The following form will pop up. Type the email address of the person to whom you are sending an email in the top blank box.

2a

Type the Subject of the email in the second blank box.

2a-subject

Type the email in the larger middle box.

3

Then, click on the blue box at the bottom left, where you see the word “Send.”

3-o

Where Do You Find the Emails That Are Sent to You?

5-boxes

Primary Emails

When you look at your emails, you will see a tab that includes the primary emails that you have received. This should be where you will see the emails from your friends and families.

I sent myself another email, and the subject of that email was “It is Too Hot.” On the above and below list, you see that email listed in bold.

5-respond-arrow

I clicked on that email and opened it.

5a-inbo-hot2

I decided to reply to Respectfully, and I clicked on the arrow that is above the right side of the message:

5-respond-arrow Arrow to respond

I could also have clicked on the word “Reply,” which is in a box beneath the message:

5-respond-reply

When I click on either the arrow or the word “Reply,” a new window opens, and I can type my response in that window.

5a-inbo-hot4

Once I had typed my message, I clicked “Send” again; and again, I had another email from “me.”

5a-inbo-hot5-reply

And the process repeats itself.

©Jacki Kellum July 27, 2016

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

