Using Kairos As A Rhetorical Device in Writing

Clock, Time, Stand By

About a week ago, I wrote that in rhetorical writing, the writer can use one of four devices or any combination of the four to make his arguments more convincing  Here.

I followed that by writing a piece that demonstrates the use of Ehtos Here.

When a writer relies on Ethos, he relies on his credentials to persuade his reader.

When a writer uses Pathos, he hopes to persuade his reader with emotion. No doubt, the commercials for the animal shelters are some of the best at using Pathos to persuade. They are heart-wrenching, but Pathos can employ other types of emotions, too. I discuss how a Geico commercial uses Pathos Here.

When a writer mentions things that are current events–that are on peoples’ minds at that specific time–he employs Kairos or timeliness. I’ll share a thought that harnesses Kairos:

For quite some time, people have been telling me about Global Warming, but I am typically uninterested in attempts to make me more ecologically aware. Yesterday, however, it was another day of a long string of extremely hot days in my New Jersey town, and out of curiosity, I did a Google search to see if this was perhaps the hottest July in history. I discovered that this is not only the hottest July in history, but 2016 is also the hottest year. That bit of information caught my attention, and after I clicked on a few more links, I became aware that Global Warming can be blamed for what I consider to be an unsatisfactory amount of heat.

Personally, I knew that it had been a hot summer. I grew up in the South and lived there for 53 years.  I am an authority on the heat. In New Jersey, people run outside in winter, and they turn on their heaters to warm their cars before driving. In Mississippi, I was tempted to run outside during the summer and turn on my air conditioner before driving. This year, in New Jersey, it has almost been Mississippi-hot, and that’s too hot to handle.

©Jjacki Kellum July 19, 2016

Leave a Reply

