What is Rhetorical Writing? – Using Words Powerfully to Persuade

Board, Blackboard, Words, Force, Energy, Persuasiveness

I don’t think that I have thought about this before, but I believe that one of my reasons for writing is to try to explain why I believe the things that I do about the issues that are important to me; and ultimately, I would like for people to agree with my opinion about any of several issues. While it might be interesting to understand why people like me need for other people–even strangers–to agree with us, it is not an uncommon thing. In fact, most people write to persuade, and the practice of writing persuasively has been around since people began to write. Before that time, men would explain themselves verbally.

Almost 400 years before Christ came into the world–almost 2400 years ago–Aristotle analyzed the ways that people express themselves when they hope to convince others to agree with them. He said that a persuasive speaker or writer uses up to three different devices, and he labeled them as Ethos, Pathos, and Logos.

What Is Ethos?

When we rely upon our credentials to support our claim, we are using Ethos, but we must find a way to comunicate our qualifications to people.

 What Is Pathos?

When we appeal to people’s emotions and use their feelings for persuasion, we are using Pathos.

What Is Logos?

Logos is the use of evidence to make a logical argument. Logos has to do with Reason..

I have two very  short videos to share with you. They differentiate between Ethos, Pathos, and Logos. The first video is more logical and more concrete. The second video is catchy and fun.

 

 

4 thoughts on “What is Rhetorical Writing? – Using Words Powerfully to Persuade

Leave a Reply

