A 1930’s Visit to the Grand Ole Opry

The Grand Ole Opry was launched in 1925. My mom was born almost a full year later, on December 6, 1926. Her family always lived outside of town and when she was young, they had no family automobile. During the daytime, everyone would work or be at school, but at night time, the family entertained themselves by gathering around to listen to the radio. My mother remembers dramatic serials that played during her childhood, but she says that every Saturday night was Grand Ole Opry Night.

Because the Grand Ole Opry grew out of a square dancing program, many of the earliest performers were fiddlers:

Bill Monroe was also one of the oldest favorites.

In the following video, you’ll hear Uncle Dave Macon performing with the group The Fruit Jar Drinkers:

In the beginning, the Grand Ole Opry was broadcast to 39 states through WSM. The Possum Hunters were another group that performed during that time.

Harmonica Players, such as Deford Bailey

During the 1930’s Roy Acuff and the Smoky Mountain Boys Were Popular

The Delmore Brothers were also popular during the 1940’s

Curly Fox & Texas Ruby were also popular during the 1930’s

During the 1940’s, Minnie Pearl became popular

.During the 1940’s Ernest Tubb was another Opry hit.

During the 1950’s, the Carter Sisters became big on the Grand Ole Opry

3 thoughts on “A 1930’s Visit to the Grand Ole Opry

  1. My younger brother now directs the Ryman Theatre, where the Opry played for years. I admire how far he has come in his career in the entertainment industry. He’s aware of the tradition of the theatre and the Opry and keeps the spirit lively.

    Thank you for this retrospective story!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That is great, Chris. I am trying to make some timelines. I am about to begin writing a novel about my mother’s life. I didn’t want June Carter singing in 1920, if it wasn’t so.

      Also, I see that you liked my son’s McDonald Poem. I am so glad that you saw that. He won’t allow me to say another word on the post, but he texted that to me accidentally yesterday morning. All day, I thought that my son had finally begun writing poetry and wanted to share. I oohed and ahhed and encouraged his writing. I didn’t hear from him again for 10 hours. He texted: “Sorry. Meant that for my neighbor. He was buying me breakfast.”

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Well, I’m laughing at your son’s response. And I think he should keep writing poetry, however accidentally.

        I went to the Ryman site just now. There is a part about its history. I’m sure you could use the “contact” part in order to ask questions. My brother’s name is Paul (Couch).

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

