Hello Darkness, My Old Friend – Moon Songs

Girl, Darkness, Snow, Fear, Mountain, Fog, Rain

Hello Darkness, My Old Friend.

When I hear the first line of the Paul Simon song, I am confused. Is Paul Simon speaking about a dark, emotional state–a type of depression, or is he talking about the darkness of not knowing, alluding to the not knowing of the people who will not speak and will not hear and will not shatter the walls of silence?

I have experienced both the darkness of depression and the darkness of little understanding, and those darknesses are different.I doubt if more words conjure a wider variety of emotions than the word “darkness.”

When we emerge from the darkness of little understanding, we might exclaim, “I see the light.”

Then, there is the darkness of sin and evil. Before the Apostle Paul’s transformation, he was a sinful Saul. His transition to the light from darkness was so very dramatic, that the old Saul was blinded by the light.

Writing, Manuscript, Illuminations, Colors

During the Dark Ages, many people believed that Jesus was the light of the world, and the Bibles were lettered and illustrated in gold. In a type of alchemy, the gold on Medieval scriptural texts was at one time believed to be a true manifestation of God–his infinite wisdom and goodness.

It is very possibly that I am more partial to a bit of darkness than most people are. Indeed, a bit of Darkness is my old friend. I like Twilight and the moments just before Dawn, and I like the ambience of a candle-lit room or a fireplace-lit room. In those cases, it is because of the darkness that we are enchanted by the flickering light.

I also like the Moon. I much prefer the Moon to the Sun, and I love the Moon because it is highlighted by its bed of darkness. But even the Moon can wear a different face on different days.

moon-963926_1920

Sometimes the Moon
by Jacki Kellum

Sometimes the moon is hot and orange
And wears a jack-o-grin.

Sheaths of golden gratitude
Wave at folks within.

moon-969236_1280

Sometimes the moon is cold and blue
Reflects from snowy trees.

The Ice Queen Empress takes her throne
And diamond rivers freeze.

full-moon-594698_1920

Sometimes the moon’s a powder puff.
Dusting through the air.

Warm and chalky angel wings
Cornstarch-wispy hair.

crescent-918793_1920

Sometimes the moon’s a baby’s boat.
Hanging in the sky.

Fishing in a sea of dreams,
Silver stars float by.

©Sometimes the Moon Jacki Kellum December 14, 2015

My favorite pieces of Children’s Literature have to do with the Moon and Darkness:

cowmoon1adj

No doubt, the cow that jumped over the moon has inspired many a poet, artist, illustrator, and just plain visionary and/or liver of life. Because it is so very common, we might tend to overlook this one, but allow me to remind you how very, very good The Cow Jumped Over the Moon actually is:

Hey, diddle, diddle,
BY MOTHER GOOSE

Hey, diddle, diddle,
The cat and the fiddle,
The cow jumped over the moon;
The little dog laughed
To see such sport,
And the dish ran away with the spoon.

Consider all of the fantastic things going on in those few lines. A pet animal has become so very real that he can play a musical instrument, and not only that, he is playing a song that makes folks want to dance. Life is being lived at the max: it is over the moon–heavenly. And everyday, household items have become human, gotten married, and run away for a life of bliss.

Life just does not get any better than what is described in Hey Diddle Diddle. I have spent my entire life, trying to get over that cow’s moon. Haven’t you?

Let’s give the cat, the fiddle, the cow, and the moon credit: They taught us how to dream.

Owl & Pussy-cat

The Owl and the Pussy-cat went to sea
In a beautiful pea green boat,
They took some honey, and plenty of money,
Wrapped up in a five pound note. …

They took some honey, and plenty of money—what more could anyone want? Honey and money–the sweet stuff of life and PLENTY of money–enough money to pay the bills: that is more than enough for me, and that is what my poetry is about–the essence of what has become enough for me.

“Dear pig, are you willing to sell for one shilling
Your ring?” Said the Piggy, “I will.”
So they took it away, and were married next day
By the Turkey who lives on the hill.
They dined on mince, and slices of quince,
Which they ate with a runcible spoon;
And hand in hand, on the edge of the sand,
They danced by the light of the moon,
The moon,
The moon,
They danced by the light of the moon.

From Owl and the Pussy-Cat by Edward Lear

They danced by the light of the moon– That is what I want to do. I want to Dance by the Light of the Moon.

I often write about the Moon. If you want to see some of my Moon pieces, you can search for them, but for the rest of the day, I think we should all just dance to the light of Edward Lear’s Moon–for as long as we possibly can.

©Jacki Kellum July 8, 2016

Darkness

2 thoughts on “Hello Darkness, My Old Friend – Moon Songs

Leave a Reply

