Learning to Hear the Whispers that Filter Into the Soul

Sunrise, Morning, Landscape, Summer, Outdoor, Natural

None of us will ever accomplish anything excellent or commanding except when he listens to this whisper which is heard by him alone. – Thomas Carlyle

Anyone who knows me will agree that I am not normally a quiet person. Rather, I am very active, and when others are around, I live out loud. Yet, there is a quiet, reflective part of myself, and it is in that place that I sometimes hear my spirit whispering to me.

On my best painting and writing days, I hear the soft voices that nudge me into my work. I call that voice my intuition, and I write a lot about the intuitive spark that is necessary for creativity. In early fall, I wrote the following about a soft voice that I heard and sensed in the changing of the seasons:

Early Autumn Night
by Jacki Kellum

Just a hint of summer now,
A lone and autumn call.

Soft and quiet, like silver thread,
Wings still whisper to my bed,

And one sole star hangs in the sky,
Goodnight, Goodbye, my sun.

Copyright Jacki Kellum October 12, 2015

I also wrote the following in October. It is about the times during my childhood that I would listen to the sound of nature outside my window.

Butterfly Breeze
by Jacki Kellum

Soft and silver,
The delicate, gossamer-like breeze
Blew into my room,
Whispering a butterfly breeze.

Whiff of a lily followed along,
Crickets and whippoorwills sang me a song,
And moon dust cradled my head.

Copyright Jacki Kellum October 2015

It is often through nature that I hear the soothing voice of my spirit. That is one of the reasons that I garden–to create spaces where I can hear and feel the quietness.

August42015adj

All of nature begins to whisper its secrets to us through its sounds. Sounds that were previously incomprehensible to our soul now become the meaningful language of nature. – Rudolf Steiner

In my opinion, regardless of where we hear them, the whisperings that we hear are spiritual. Because  it is in nature that I feel closest to God, my favorite church moments were at my camp’s church services. On Sunday mornings, all of the campers would line single-file on a narrow, winding, and rocky path that spiraled down into the center of a completely wooded area. For the walk down, the campers would become absolutely silent and then, we would begin to sing: We Are Climbing Jacob’s Ladder over and over again. The twisting line of children was long, and I could never hear more than a few voices, but most importantly, I heard my own voice. I am very thankful that at an early age, I learned to get quiet and to hear myself feel.

I grew up as a Southern Baptist, and my memories of traditional church are very much that of a Baptist piano accompanying us as we sang sweet hymns. Sometimes, I heard my spirit in regular churches and sometimes I did not. Invariably, however, an essential part of my hearing and feeling is that of getting quiet.

Christ, Image Of Christ, Cross, Christian Faith

Be still and know that I am God. – Psalm 46:10

Elvis Presley was a rock and roll singer. His performances were not calm at all, but in the following performance, we can see that Presley knew the value of getting quiet and hearing the spirit. In the following video, it is obvious that Elvis Presley saw fit to stop his rock concert and to allow a space to hear.

Just as in earthly life lovers long for the moment when they are able to breathe forth their love for each other, to let their souls blend in a soft whisper, so the mystic longs for the moment when in prayer he can, as it were, creep into God. – Soren Kierkegaard

I am thankful that as I have gotten older and my experience has widened, I have learned that Christians are not the only people who hear a sweet, sweet spirit. The Buddhists are the masters of meditation, the practice through which they attain spirituality.

Buddha Statue, Buddha, Japan, Buddhism, Five Hundred

Buddha, Meditation, Rest, Buddhism, Faith, Relaxation

Some religions call the place of this enlightenment the Soul–the base of a person’s being.

India, Statue, Goddess, Stone, Woman, Fig, Hinduism

Regardless of one’s religion, however, I believe that everyone is trying to hear the same voice–the whispering hope–the encouragement to feel and to live.

The thief cometh not, but that he may steal, and kill, and destroy: I came that they may have life, and may have it abundantly. John 10: 10

©Jacki Kellum April 25, 2016

Whisper

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “Learning to Hear the Whispers that Filter Into the Soul

Leave a Reply

