1942 Oscar Nomination Yankee Doodle Dandy Is Still A Great, Patriotic Movie

Before I began my mission to watch and review all of the Oscar Movies and Nominations from the past, I talked about Yankee Doodle Dandy. I love everything about this movie. I love George M. Cohen’s music; therefore, I considered the songs in the movie to be a treat.

Dadairforceplaneadj

Cohen’s musical career was during World War II. My dad, who is on the front row of the above photograph, third from the left, flew with the Army Air Force during World War II, and my mother was one of the girls who worked in a St. Louis munitions factory.

While my dad was home on leave, my mother and dad met. V-J Day was soon afterward, and they married. My mother and dad loved to sing and dance, and George M. Cohen’s songs were favorites around our house. I have every reason to be sentimental about the movie Yankee Doodle Dandy, but I earnestly believe that it was also very well made. While I wonder why some movies have been nominated for Oscars in the past, I do not feel that way at all about YankeeDoodle Dandy.

Jimmy Cagney, who typically played the parts of tough gangsters, was delightful in the movie. If it weren’t for this film, the world may never have known what a talented song and dance man he was, too.

I cannot venture a guess at how many times that I have heard my folks sing Cohen’s song Over There. The following is from the last frame of the movie, and by that time in the film, I had worked myself into a nostalgic frenzy, and it made me cry. Because of his efforts in rallying support for World War II, Goerge M. Cohen was awarded the Congressional Medal of Honor. I am certainly convinced that Cohen deserved that award. I recommend Cohen’s music, and I also recommend Yankee Doodle Dandy, which is about him.

©Jacki Kellum February 15, 2016

.

Leave a Reply

