The 1952 Oscar Nomination The Quiet Man Is My Kind of Movie

Especially suitable for Valentine’s Day, today I am recommending the 1952 Oscar Nomination The Quiet Man, which is a great romantic drama. Some romantic films nauseate me a bit, but that is not true of this film, which is tempered by the fiery tempestuosness of Maureen O’Hara and the staunch ruggedness of  John Wayne. John Wayne, Maureen O’Hara, Irish cottages, and Irish pubs–now, that is fodder for a great, old movie. John Wayne and Maureen O’Hara made several movies together, and I like all of them, but in my opinion, The Quiet Man is one of their best movies.

I have seen The Quiet Man several times, and I love the film’s cinematography. The greenness of Ireland is played heavily upon, and red is the complement of green. I love all of the dots and dashes of reds throughout The Quiet Man. In addition, Maureen O’Hara has flaming red hair.

There are other attentions to color detail in the movie. Blues and whites are also played against the reds. A couple of times in the movie, we see O’Hara working in the blue and white kitchen of her homeplace. The cupboard is filled with blue and white dishes, and a blue and white checked cloth is on the table. Those scenes are a visual treat.

I am a visual person and the careful use of color in the The Quiet Man may have appealed more to me than some. I am also an avid gardener–and I especially like cottage gardens. In fact, I have an entire blog site dedicated to cottage gardens. I naturally enjoyed the use of the Irish cottage, in the movie The Quiet Man.

Truthfully, I liked all of the cottagey, blue and white, British touches of The Quiet Man. I also collect bue and white, English China. That is just my style. Several times before, I have admitted that I am partial to Britsh films. The Quiet Man is not a British film, but it is set in Ireland and is rich with Irish overtones. I am especially nostalgic about the cottage lifestyle of the UK during the 19th Century and early 20th Century, and I feel sure that my nostalgia has colored my appreciation of the movie The Quiet Man, but I earnestly believe that even without my sentimentality, I would still love this film.

©Jacki Kellum February 14, 2016

Leave a Reply

