We Make Plans and God Laughs

I was driving this morning and on my car radio, I heard the report that a man had been killed by a meteorite. I returned home and researched the story, and it seems doubtful that a meteorite was responsible for the man’ death and that another explanation was more likely. Regardless of what actually inflicted the man’s wounds, however, I feel sure that it was something that he had not planned. Regardless of how diligently we prepare ourselves, things simply go wrong in life; and we have to change our courses.

In my own life, I have experienced several rude awakenings, when things did not go as I had planned. When I was 20-years-old, a drunk driver nearly destroyed me in a car wreck. Several years later, divorce ripped my marriage, my home, my family, and my life’s plans away from me. While some people may be dealt better cards than I have been dealt in life, others have been dealt much worse; and whatever the case, we all ultimately face death, and most often even that happens at a time that we have not planned.

“Moreover, man does not know his time: like fish caught in a treacherous net and birds trapped in a snare, so the sons of men are ensnared at an evil time when it suddenly falls on them.” – Ecclesiastes 9:12

In one respect, it might seem that making plans is a complete waste of time. As the expression goes, “We make plans and God laughs.” But on the other hand, planning is an excellent exercise–regardless of whether our plans unfold on course or not. I agree with Eisenhower that planning is an excellent tool.

“In preparing for battle I have always found that plans are useless, but planning is indispensable.” – Dwight Eisenhower

I am an avid gardener, and each year, I design several elaborate plans for my gardens. I go outside, and I measure things. I research plants. I place them with pencil and paper, and in my mind I water them and watch them grow. Check out my plans for my Children’s Garden that I will soon begin to plant Here

Children's

Most of my garden planning happens when the ground is frozen and nothing is growing outside. I have never strictly followed one of my plans, but it is in the planning that I understand my general goals. Once we understand basically where we are going in life, upsets and changes of plan are not a terrible thing. Many routes lead to the same goal. I have discovered that when I loosen up a bit and simply go with the flow, I do best in life.

©Jacki Kellum February 10, 2016

“I’ve learned that God sometimes allows us to find ourselves in a place where we want something so bad that we can’t see past it. Sometimes we can’t even see God because of it. When we want something so bad, it’s easy to mistake what we truly need for the thing we really want. When this sort of thing happens, and it seems to happen to everyone, I’ve found it’s because what God has for us is obscured from view, just around another bend in the road.

In the Bible, the people following God had the same problem I did. They swapped the real thing for an image of the real thing. We target the wrong thing and our misdirected life’s goal ends up looking like a girl or a wide-brimmed hat or a golden calf. All along, what God really wants for us is something much different, something more tailored for us.

[…]

And when each of us looks back at all the turns and folds God has allowed in our lives, I don’t think it looks like a series of folded-overs that have shaped our lives. Instead I think we’ll conclude in the end that maybe we’re all a little like human origami and the more creases we have, the better.” – Bob Goff – Love Does: Discover a Secretly Incredible Life in an Ordinary World

 

“That though the radiance which was once so bright be now forever taken from my sight. Though nothing can bring back the hour of splendor in the grass, glory in the flower. We will grieve not, rather find strength in what remains behind.” – William Wordsworth

Sudden Shifts

5 thoughts on “We Make Plans and God Laughs

  1. Fortunately, God smiles because God loves us, too.

    The quotation of Eisenhower is terrific. When working as an administrator, I’ve had to plan. Then typically I wait for the plan to fall apart. But planning always seems a necessary step. Most likely, because it is.

    Meteors, car crashes, and divorce are certainly severely serious unplanned happenings. Does being a planner, foundationally, help with these?

    The garden plans are both organized and beautiful. Certainly, seems it would be good if these were to be realized. As planned.

    Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Always glad to hear from you. The garden plan is probably the one that will be executed fairly closely. No, I don’t think we can prepare enough for the catastrophes. We just learn how to endure and make the best of what is left. Have a great week.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. For certain I will be following you! Love, love, love this post! I also checked out your About page and absolutely love your art work and I am no connoisseur of art, but love what I see. I love bright, vibrant colors.

    I agree with you, that ultimately God is in control, ours is to acknowledge him in all our ways, and he will direct our paths. Plan, but know, he may have other things in mind. Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

