Bloggers Need to Also Offer Something Practical on Their Sites

 

Jeans, Pants, Clothing, Blue Jeans, CloseI have been analyzing my stats today, and it is obvious that regardless of how many flowery and fine things that I manage to say on my blog, it is the everyday, practical blue jeans stuff of my site that seems to attracts the most viewers.

“I have often said that I wish I had invented blue jeans: the most spectacular, the most practical, the most relaxed and nonchalant. They have expression, modesty, sex appeal, simplicity – all I hope for in my clothes.” – Yves Saint Laurent

I am an idealist. The things that I write most passionately about are feelings and art and expression–the fluff of life, and it is interesting that those kinds of posts get the most “likes” on my site, but that is not what gets the most views.

When I first began blogging, I had not decided what I most wanted to say and I simply wrote about anything that came to my mind. At the time that I wrote my first blog posts, I was also learning to use Adobe Photoshop and Adobe Illutrator, and many of my first posts were about what I was learning to do with those two programs. That was over two years ago. I moved most of the Photoshop tutorials to another site, but I quit using Illustrator and after 2013, I never wrote any more Illustrator tutorials.

To this day, the post that is most viewed on my site is one that provides a quick reference for the symbols in Adobe Illustrator. It goes on to tell how I used the symbols as clip art Here. The post was written in September of 2013. In 2015, I only blogged on this site three months, but because many of my posts were still being viewed, even when I was not posting, I received viewers all 12 months.  The Adobe Illustrator post was viewed 1572 times in 2015.  The post that was viewed the second most number of times was one that contained a list of Albert Einstein quotes. That post was viewed 799 times in 2015, and it was also written in late 2013.

In 2014, the Einstein Quotes post was viewed 7, 065 times and the Illustrator post was viewed 1,395 times–about 1100 times a month. 2016 has just begun. During the first month, The Adobe Illustrator post received 148 views and Einstein Quotes received 98 views. I wrote another tutorial post during the latter part of January.  This time, I wrote about the new Ipad Pro and Apple Pencil. That is actually the first tutorial that I have written in quite some time for this site, and its numbers are doing well, too. Following are my stats for the first nine days of February. You will see that the Ipad Pro tutorial is in second place now:

statsThe Eyes Have It, a post that contrasts true seeing with mere looking [an artier, more philosophical post] did not do badly, but the people who read the posts like that one–the ones that are about my actual interests–are not the same people who drop by for a tutorial or tip here and there. It has been years since anyone has “liked” my Adobe Illustrator tutorial or my post of Einstein quotes, but those posts are viewed everyday. On the other hand, my other, more ethereal posts are “liked” quite often.

On February 6, I wrote The Eyes Have It, and the post was liked 9 times during the past 2 days. The people who read about my passions are my loyal readers. Many of those people read my posts every day. Although I have only met one of my blog site’s readers, I consider those readers my friends–my support group. I know nothing about the people who just drop in for a tutorial. They come and they go.

The purpose of this post is to share a bit of advice that I have learned from the investigation of my stats. For people who are trying to become a recognized name with Google and who want to elevate their SEO, it might be a good idea to post some practical, teachable stuff–along with your more ideological writing. Because I did post a lot of tutorials in the first months that I blogged, Google found me.  I have been on Google’s first page several times recently, and that has been a pleasant surprise. I attribute my page rankings to the time that I spent providing information that is useful to people.

“Design is a constant challenge to balance comfort with luxe, the practical with the desirable.” – Donna Karan

My ultimate goal is to blog several books into existence. Blogging a Book requires two things. It requires a lot of writing material, but it also requires the attainment of a reader base. I’d like to say that Google’s First Page is not important and that SEO is totally unnecessary, but that is not the case–at least it is not the case from writers who hope to publish. From what I have been told, even traditional publishers are expecting that writers create a substantial amount of their own readership and their own publicity. A blog is a great way to do that, but it only works if we do what it takes to attract readers. In my experience, posting a few tutorials will help immensely.

©Jacki Kellum February 9, 2016

“A blog is neither a diary nor a journal. Many people think of blogging in relation to those two things, confessional or practical. It is neither but includes elements of both.” – Lemn Slssay

“The theoretical understanding of the world, which is the aim of philosophy, is not a matter of great practical importance to animals, or to savages, or even to most civilised men.” – Bertrand Russell

“The leader has to be practical and a realist, yet must talk the language of the visionary and the idealist.” – Eric Hoffer

The Stat Connection

One thought on “Bloggers Need to Also Offer Something Practical on Their Sites

Leave a Reply

