Red Chalk Drawings Created with Ipad Pro & Apple Pencil – Jacki Kellum Drawing

Earring

The Earring – Red Chalk Drawing Created in Ipad Pro by Jacki Kellum

I have had my Ipad Pro and Apple Pencil 1 week, and I did the above drawing and the following, using those tools and the app Paper by 53. From everything that I have read, the app market has barely scratched the surface in aligning itself with the entirely new world of options that will become more and more available for artists who take advantage of Ipad Pro’s new technology.

I love the sensitive marks that I can make by holding the Apple Pencil on the side. I have tried the same thing, using several different apps, but in my opinion, the app Paper by 53 is the most adept at creating the wispy, chalk-like look that I prefer.

colors-paper53

In the app Paper by 53, I used the Pencil Tool and the default orange color to create all of the drawings shown here. I also use the white for highlights.

BoyCurls1

Boy with Curls – Red Chalk Drawing Created in Ipad Pro by Jacki Kellum

Most graphic artists will probably see ways that the Ipad Pro could be beneficial for their work. The Ipad Pro’s value for photographers is also fairly obvious.  However, fine artists might wonder why they would want to create digital drawings. After all, the results are digital–they are not real drawings. [Or are they? I actually believe that because of Ipad Pro and Apple Pencil, that line is finally being erased].

flapper

The Flapper – Red Chalk Drawing Created in Ipad Pro by Jacki Kellum

I do view the Ipad Pro and the Apple Pencil as excellent tools for practicing. At least 90% of creating in art has to do with SEEING. It is especially important to see how and where light strikes an object’s or a person’s surface. I prefer art that is quick and intuitive. I am not crazy about art that is fussy, tight, and overworked. In order to create quick, almost impulsive work, an artist needs to SEE accurately and he needs to learn to dash his marks here and there, and the marks need to land in just the right places. Practice is the only way to become good at this kind of artistic bravura.

AfricanAmerican-Girl

African American Girl – Red Chalk Drawing Created in Ipad Pro by Jacki Kellum

Because of the Ipad Pro and the Apple Pencil, I am able to practice while sitting on my bed, while drinking coffee in Starbucks, and while sitting in the car, waiting to drive carpool. The Ipad Pro and the Apple Pencil have helped me turn down time into up time, and in my opinion, that is a wonderful reason to own these devices. But I believe that they serve an even greater purpose.

BabyCurls

Toddler Boy with Curls –  Red Chalk Drawing Created in Ipad Pro by Jacki Kellum

I have only had my Ipad Pro and Apple Pencil one week, and what I am showing you are my first drawings using these new tools. I am excited about the ways that these tools have facilitated my practicing and studies for creating with more traditional materials. But as I said before, I believe that these devices may offer more than that.

I am a dinosaur in the art world. I have been out of art school for almost half a century, but I can still admit that digital drawing may actually be a final art form. In other words, a digital drawing may be more than a study or a practice. We are reminded of the arguments about Process versus Product. Do we really need a tangible product for us to call Ipad Drawings art?

There are many Ipad apps that allow you to upload a photo and to create an arty looking picture by merely touching a button. When you use these types of apps, the Ipad makes all the marks. The user does not. That is not art. The drawings that I am showing you were not done in that way. I made every mark in each of the drawings done, and I did not upload a photograph to trace for doing so. While I would agree that a mere touch of a button is not art, I’d be willing to argue the case for what I am doing now with the Ipad Pro and the Apple Pencil. I do believe that with the Ipad Pro and the Apple Pencil, we are watching an entirely new generation of arts unfold.

©Jacki Kellum January 24, 2016

3 thoughts on “Red Chalk Drawings Created with Ipad Pro & Apple Pencil – Jacki Kellum Drawing

    1. Thanks. I am actually as surprised as anyone by the performance of this team. I have not seen any need to buy a new Ipad for many years. This has raised the bar.

      Like

      1. I have a friend, Linda Levy, who does all her work on a computer…with a Stylus and paint program. Have a look at her work. It is wonderful as well. She does one of a kinds–doesn’t mass produce. She is located in Bonnie Doone, Santa Cruz, CA

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

