I Believe!

tulips1

In the Pink – Watercolor by Jacki Kellum -2015

I believe in pink. I believe that laughing is the best calorie burner. I believe in kissing, kissing a lot. I believe in being strong when everything seems to be going wrong. I believe that happy girls are the prettiest girls. I believe that tomorrow is another day and I believe in miracles. – Audrey Hepburn

Too many people only see black and white — right or wrong. In my experience, that type of life-view is terribly narrow, and the people who cannot stretch themselves and see more of the subtle variances of living are missing a great deal. Like Audrey Hepburn, I believe in Pink.

daisy-582925_960_720

I believe that because the earth could be terribly grim without them, God gave us flowers and he gave us hands to pick them and a mind that knows that without a vase of water, flowers will wilt. God helps us find places to live and little tables to place our vase of flowers. He gave us eyes to see them and noses to smell them.  Because the world that is only black and white is dull and relentlessly grim, God gave us flowers.

wildflower-918934_1920

Some of the earth’s flowers grow in gardens, but long before people learned to garden, God planted wild, without any help from mankind. They are growing in God’s garden–just the way that he likes them, free.

A weed is a plant that has mastered every survival skill except for learning how to grow in rows. – Doug Larson

dragonfly-274058_1920

And God gave us dragonflies who, with unbound energy, dart back and forth across His garden, adding infinite vitality to what is growing from the ground, and God gave us birds to fill our skies with songs.

sunset-100367_1920

God also gave us the sun and the moon. In fact, light is the first thing that God provided for us. Imagine the world without the sun. It would always be cold. Nothing would grow. Without light, we could not see, and bad things happen in shadows. God could have left His world with a dark, cold, and shadowy existence, but He elected to give us light, and he did it with absolute poise and grace.

landscape-680226_1920

God could have hung a huge fluorescent light fixture in the sky and called that light, and His people could have a light switch to flash the light on and off–black and white–but that is not what He chose to do. God provided us with a variety of types of light. We have the bright sun of day, and we have the mysterious moon to tantalize us at night. The moon is the stuff of poetry. The moon’s light is subtle and variable. It does not cast a black and white light. The moon, with its power to suggest, is more than light–it is magic.

star-clusters-74052_1920

I believe in God. I believe in His unending creativity and foresight. There are 100 billion stars in our galaxy alone and no two stars are the same.

stars

I believe in stars. I believe in the way that a star-lit night beckons me to look up at the sky and to feel the immensity of the universe. I believe in the dots of light that scatter across the night. The stars remind me that there is a force that is bigger than I am.

I believe that if I were left alone and that if there were no force greater than I, that even my life–my life as a painter who loves color–would be limited to black and white–to survival and non-survival. But here is a God, a God who is the ultimate artist. He created flowers and clouds and trees and the sun and the moon and the stars–and PINK. God gave us more than black and white, and he gave s the ability to see that in his complex world. We must simply open our eyes and our hearts and SEE. Because of God’s astounding creation, I do much more than merely survive. I flourish, and I write, and I paint.

I believe in magic. I believe in miracles. I believe in Pink. And I believe in God.

©Jacki Kellum January 18, 2016

In honor of Dr. Martin Luther King

I refuse to accept the view that mankind is so tragically bound to the starless midnight of racism and war that the bright daybreak of peace and brotherhood can never become a reality… I believe that unarmed truth and unconditional love will have the final word. – Dr. Martin Luther King

Leave a Reply

