My Plan for Keeping My New Year’s Resolution

love-castle-1042979-promise-quote

I do not believe that I have EVER made a New Year’s Resolution and stuck with it–at least not for one full year.  This year, I resolve to do better, and I have set a plan in place.

  1. I decided to follow the advice of Anthony Hitt, and this year, I only made a promise that I can keep.
  2. I have set up a system of accountability checks, to keep myself on task.

My Number 1 New Year’s Resolution for 2016

My Number 1 New Year’s Resolution for 2016 is to post at least one article six out of every seven days–and on some days, I’ll post more than one article. I promise that over the next year, I shall have posted at least 365 new articles. 

I have several goals that fall beneath that main challenge, and I can already see that my other goals do not qualify as resolutions. For instance, I want to focus better in the following three areas:

  1. I want to illustrate and submit at least one picture book for publication this year.
  2. I want to finish writing my memoir and submit it for publication this year.
  3. I want to paint–just paint–at least one day per week.

Understanding the Differences Between a Resolution and a Goal

A Resolution is a firm promise. Goals are mere targets.

While the wording of a goal might be more generalized, the wording of a resolution needs to be tight. A resolution should not contain any wiggle room. My resolution is simple and straightforward and in its wording, I have established a clear path. I’ll post at least 6 out of every 7 days.

The Value of An Accountability Program

Weight Watchers and other weight loss programs harness systems of accountability. In a commercial weight loss program, the dieter is often required to go to a room, stand in front of another person, and weigh. Now, that is a system of answerability.

I have developed a similar system of accountability for myself. Beginning this weekend, I’ll publish my first ever online magazine, The Jacki Kellum Weekly. It will be a digest of some of what I consider to be my best articles from the previous week. My resolution is to have at least 7 articles or poems or other features in every weekly magazine.

Resolutions Are More Effective When They Have Regular Check Points

If I had launched my 2016 resolution and did not return to it for another full year, I feel quite sure that my resolution would fail. My weekly magazine will be like the Weight Watchers weigh-in. EVERY week, I’ll revisit my resolution, and I will let the people see whether I am keeping my promise or not.

Resolved

4 thoughts on “My Plan for Keeping My New Year’s Resolution

    1. Thank you, very much. Do people in Africa make New Year’s Resolutions, and when exactly does your new year begin in Africa?

      Like

  1. Resolutions promises. Goals targets. Certainly makes sense. While I’m happy to have so much writing to read, I’m also happy you’ll continue painting also in a dedicated way. I’ll be remembering the painting of the trees with bright and subtle colors, and there will be more contributions such as this to the world. Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

