What My 2015 WordPress Stats Say about My Blogging – Things I’ll Do Differently in 2016

2015-stats1

When you look at the above image, it is obvious that for nine months, I did not post anything at all on this blog site Jacki Kellum Juxtapositions, but when I returned, I came back with a vengeance. I have posted almost every day since I began blogging again on October 2, 2015. In spite of my long absence, my annual stats report is fairly favorable as follows:

“The concert hall at the Sydney Opera House holds 2,700 people. This blog was viewed about 12,000 times in 2015. If it were a concert at Sydney Opera House, it would take about 4 sold-out performances for that many people to see it.

“There were 779 pictures uploaded, taking up a total of 379 MB. That’s about 2 pictures per day.

“The busiest day of the year was October 18th with 342 views. The most popular post that day was My Dad Was the Wizard of Oz.”

Hard Truths

When I read my report, I was pleased by what I had accomplished, but I had to accept the fact that had I not wasted nine full months, my statistics might have been stupendous. More importantly, I would no doubt be much closer than I am to many of my creative goals.

My Number 1 New Year’s Resolution for 2016

My Number 1 New Year’s Resolution for 2016 is to post at least one article six out of every seven days.

I have several goals that fall beneath that main challenge, and I can already see that my other goals do not qualify as resolutions. For instance, I want to focus better in the following three areas:

  1. I want to illustrate and submit at least one picture book for publication this year.
  2. I want to finish writing my memoir and submit it for publication this year.
  3. I want to paint–just paint–at least one day per week.

WeekdayBanner

I had initially determined that I would assign definite work tasks to each day–hoping to better assure that I split my creative time equally. I had decided to begin that program on January 1, 2016, but I can already see that my schedule demands a bit of flexibility.

I see no advantage in establishing resolutions for things that I cannot accomplish, but I should be able to complete at least one blog post every six days out of seven, and I can only imagine how much better my stats report will be for 2016 than it was for 2015. Because my blog posts are essentially what will become my picture books and my memoir, in posting every day, I’ll better assure that I accomplish my other goals, which are the things that I actually hope to accomplish by sticking with my New Year’s Resolution.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “What My 2015 WordPress Stats Say about My Blogging – Things I’ll Do Differently in 2016

Leave a Reply

