My Liebster Award – Why Blog? Blog to Allow Random Acts of Kindness to Find You & Enrich Your Life

liebster-laurel

I have posted several times about various reasons that everyone should blog. Today, I am offering another reason, and it is connected to something that just happened to me–because of my blogging. Today, I half-heartedly responded to WordPress’s Daily Prompt, which was that of writing about my involvement with a musical instrument. Here

I was a weak link in my high school’s marching band, and I wrote about how, in small towns, even the weaker links are needed. I didn’t like playing in the band, but the experience became part of who I was and why. Because playing in the band was not one of my favorite activities, I almost abandoned midstream my writing about it. I opted to finish writing the post but did not consider my effort to be one of my best writing examples. Not expecting much reaction at all, I simply completed the post and moved on.

BloggingU300Moments later, a fellow blogger reacted to my writing about playing in the band by nominating me for the WordPress Award, the Liebster Award.

I am reminded of several realities about writing–and about blogging.

  1. Even when you are not “into” writing, show up and write. Here
  2. We never fully understand the impact of our blog posts. Here
  3. Because of blogging, we make ourselves available for other people to impact us and reward our lives, in return.
  4. Remember that your readers are not carbon copies of you. Even when things are not interesting to you yourself, they might touch a chord with a reader.
  5. Often when we blog, we do so to help find ourselves. When readers read our posts, they are also looking for themselves–and they are not necessarily looking for you.

When I wrote about marching in the band and poorly playing the piccolo, I did not expect that anyone would even read what I wrote. Yet, because of my effort, another person not only read the post but because of it, he nominated me for a WordPress Award.

I was touched. I was honored. Most importantly, I was read.

I live alone in a town that is 1,000 miles away from my home and family. I am almost 66-years-old, and I am not ashamed to say that human contact has become its own reward for me. While being nominated for the Liebster Award is not a great deal, human contact is.

Why Blog? Blog to Allow Random Acts of Kindness to Find You & Enrich Your Life

Before I go any further, allow me to tell you the name of the blogger who honored me with this accolade:

Christopher Couch: I wrote about Christopher Here

I met Christopher about two months ago. Both of us participated in a WordPress Poetry Class, and Christopher was very kind to me. We got to know each other through our blogs.

Christopher’s Blog Site is Here

To Participate in the Liebster Award Program, I Am Asked to Answer 11 Questions Posed by the Person Who Nominated Me – Here Goes!

blog-327073_1920

1. What got you started with your blog?

A few years ago, I pursued my third master’s degree, and as part of that study, I learned about social media, how to create websites, etc. As a result, I created several wikis, an effort that was slightly less involved than that of creating websites. As part of the requirements for that graduate program, I also launched my first blog, on Blogger. My other two graduate studies were in visual art and in writing, and I recognized that the Internet was the perfect platform for sharing both visual images and writing. Two and one-half years ago, I stumbled into WordPress, and I felt that WordPress offered me the perfect space to communicate both visually and verbally.


2. Post a link to your favorite blog post you have written and explain why it is your favorite.

One of the main reasons for my blogging is to remove my mask and to communicate who I really am. I have written several posts about that, and one of my favorites is:

My Creativity Has Always Been My Childhood Friend Here

arnicalupinejune2220128x10facebook-image12

Alaskan Wildflowers – Watercolor Painted by Jacki Kellum

3. What is your favorite color?

I teach art, and my students know that my favorite color varies. In reality, I do not have one single favorite color. If I have to limit myself to a color pair, I choose Vincent Van Gogh Delft Blue and School Bus Yellow. Van Gogh is one of my favorite painters, and he often used that color combination in his work.

red-hibiscus-2-june-22-20135

Red Hibiscus – Watercolor Painted by Jacki Kellum

I also love Rootin Tootin Red.

watercolor-janis-1-facebook-image1

In watercolor, it is difficult to paint freely and prevent the wrong color combos from mixing. No doubt, the rainbow is my favorite color combo. I love to paint freely and vividly with as many colors as possible.

summer-still-life-779386_1920

4. Where do you get inspiration to blog?

My childhood was a mixed bag. Although there are some skeletons in my childhood closet, I remember most of my childhood as a warm, embracing, colorful, and rich time. I am blessed that my memory of my childhood is vivid. One of my favorite memories is my grandmother’s massive flower garden and the way that it encircled her cottage of a home. I am an avid gardener now, and I maintain a blog about my gardening Here

I maintain a blog site about drawing and journaling from nature Here

This blog site is about all sorts of things that interest me, but primary among those things is my memory of my childhood–a time during which I lived a block behind my grandparents and was fortunate to essentially have two sets of parents:

Grandma’s Closet
by Jacki Kellum

The bonnet’s at the very top
The duster’s down below.
Fancy flowers are drying still
They’re hanging in a row.

Breathe the sunshine, weeds, and dirt,
Catch the seeds from Grandma’s skirt,
Save them in your summer shirt.
Plant them; let them grow

5. What was your favorite book or movie as a child?

When I was a child, I had two favorite movies. One was the Wizard of Oz, and I have written about my love of that movie several times Here

I have not written this before, but my other favorite movie was Heidi. My grandmother’s heritage is German, and Bavaria runs through my veins. I loved Heidi, but I think that what I loved most about that movie was the Grandfather’s cottage, perched in the Alps.

Nature, Mountains, Alps
6. Where would you like to travel that you haven’t traveled to yet?

I would enjoy traveling ANYWHERE, but for most of my life, I have wanted to spend time living in a small village in the Alps.

7. What is your favorite season and why?

My favorite seasons are Spring, Summer, Fall, and Winter.

snow-721952_1920

For a while, I love the way that Winter transforms the world and invites its creatures to rest.

Crocus, Flower, Spring, Bühen, Purple, Blossom, Bloom

By the time that Spring arrives, I am tired of winter. After several weeks, I begin to feel that winter is strangling me–holding me prisoner in my house. When spring arrives, I burst out of my house and into my garden.

Sunflowers, Sunflower, Yellow, Petal, Petals, Flower

Until things become entirely too hot, I love Summer gardening, too.

Tree, Avenue, Back Light, Sun, Field, Away, Sky, Green

When Autumn arrives, that becomes my favorite time of year.

Naming my favorite season is like naming my favorite color. I love something about every season, and I am always ready for the next seasonal change that is coming around the bend.

tea-381235_1920

8. Any goals for your blog?

I have spent almost my entire life researching, preparing to write several books. I blog for several reasons, but my current primary purpose is to use my blogs as a vessel to spit out some books, one post at a time.

9. Do you have a bucket list? What is number 1?

My bucket list is to publish several books, and my reason for that desire might be surprising. While I would enjoy the public notice that would come with publishing, my primary reason for wanting to publish is that of wanting more financial security. Actually, my bucket list is to amass enough money to survive until I die.

10. Favorite thing to blog about?

My childhood is my favorite thing to blog about.

11. What’s your dream job?

I like to teach, but I no longer like the day in, day out, administrative, bureaucratic, hassle of teaching in schools. My dream job now is that of teaching writing and image making to groups intermittently–with long spaces in between.

Thank you, friend, Christopher Couch, who has also nominated me for the Sunshine Award.

BloggingU300b

 

 

Leave a Reply

