My Worst Thanksgiving Meal – Jacki Kellum Free Writing Prompt

frog-926574_640

My cooking is so bad my kids thought Thanksgiving was to commemorate Pearl Harbor. – Phyllis Diller

I hate to admit this, but the very worst Thanksgiving meal that I have ever had was one that I tried to cook myself.

Probably most young, married couples spend their first big holidays with their own parents, but soon the couple has children of their own and things often shift so that the holidays are spent in their own homes, as opposed to the places where they grew up.

When I had a young family, I lived hundreds of miles away from my hometown, where my Thanksgiving meals were never below superior. Both my mother and my grandmother were excellent cooks, and although I did learn to cook many of the family favorites, preparing the Thanksgiving meal was not among the things that I had learned to do.

For instance, I did not know that it takes several days for a turkey to thaw safely inside the refrigerator and that even sitting on the counter, a turkey does not thaw quickly.

Well, the first time that I set out to cook Thanksgiving dinner, we were living on our farm in Mississippi. The morning had been dominated by errands, like feeding the horses, mending some fences, etc. After lunch, I decided to start the turkey. We would have an evening meal. I had bought my frozen turkey 2 days before, and it had been resting in my refrigerator. I thought it would be ready to bake, but that was not the case.

The turkey was frozen solid, and it was almost 1:00 p.m.

I filled the sink with hot water and tried to warm up the bird, but after changing the bath several times, that did not seem to be working either. It took several hours of my drawing fresh, hot water over and over again for me to get the turkey thawed. Oh, my! It was almost 4:00.

I finally got the turkey into the oven, and I went back outside to do some more errands and forgot the meal.

Ab0ut 6:00, I went to check on the turkey. Oh, No! I had not turned on the oven. I felt like Laurel and Hardy–rolled into one silly charade.

I did get the turkey started, but that year, we did not eat Thanksgiving dinner until almost midnight. No one was amused. No one was even still hungry. They had been snacking all day, and by midnight, the time for a Thanksgiving turkey had come and gone.

Writing Prompt: Describe your worst ever Thanksgiving meal.

Post a link to your response in the comment window below, and promise yourself to have your Thanksgiving turkey thawed and ready to bake by 7:00 a.m. on Thanksgiving Day.

Copyright Jacki Kellum November 19, 2015

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “My Worst Thanksgiving Meal – Jacki Kellum Free Writing Prompt

Leave a Reply

