Why Blog? Blog to Take A Stand–to be Real!

hand-laptop-notebook-typing-440

Blogging versus Facebook

I do not see a great deal of authentic communication taking place on Facebook. I have said this before, but on Facebook, most people seem to be posting little pictures with little tidbits or quotes on them. There is very little explaining or discussing the tidbit–Facebook is more of a note here and a quote there. On Facebook, the raison d’etre seems to merely have one’s tidbit of information “liked.” When I am on Facebook, I feel like I am back in 7th grade–only showing a bit of myself–only showing what I think people will like.

Yesterday, I wrote about the time when I was in junior high–when I heard the lyrics to songs  and recognized myself as “The Great Pretender” Here

Oh-oh, yes I’m the great pretender
Pretending that I’m doing well
My need is such I pretend too much
I’m lonely, but no one can tell
Oh-oh, yes I’m the great pretender
Adrift in a world of my own
I’ve played the game but to my real shame
You’ve left me to grieve all alone
Too real is this feeling of make-believe
Too real when I feel what my heart can’t conceal
or “The Funny Little Clown” Here 
See the funny little clown
See him laughing as you walk by
Everybody thinks he’s happy
‘Cause you never see a tear in his eye
No one knows he’s crying
No one knows he’s dying on the inside
‘Cause he’s laughing on the outside,

carnival-457678_640

Long ago, I decided that there is more to me than a shallow, pretending mask and that the people who only like my mask are really not the kinds of people that I call actual “friends.” I call those people acquaintances, and acquaintances are nice–but when I take the time to reach out to people, I actually want to connect on a deeper level. Facebook does not seem to be the platform for that kind of connecting–at least not for me.

For My Facebook “Friend”
by Jacki Kellum

Screen seen,
Glitter glean,
Lonely people in between.

Reach far,
Catch a star,
How I wonder who you are.

I want to be liked; and I dislike, as much as anyone else, for people to disagree with me.  I do not even like the conflict of disagreeing with others; but I decided long ago that I would not be the kind of person who has no real opinions.

People without opinions are like piles of mashed potatoes.  Mashed Potato People have had the life boiled and whipped completely out of themselves. Mashed Potato People tend to ride the fence on every issue.

Life is not lived on the fence. We must have opinions.  We must take a stand in life.  In taking a stand, our lives can be differentiated from the faceless mob.   The only way to be meaningful in life is to let your life mean–to let it actually stand–to let it stand out.

In taking a stand, our lives can be differentiated.

In taking stands in life, we do more than exist–we mean.

The only way to be meaningful in life is to allow your life to mean.

There will people who absolutely hate us for our opinions; but in taking stands in life, we offer other people something real and tangible to love, too.   We offer them an authentic mind, words with meaning, and an ability to let people know why and how we care.

When we risk taking a stand, we may not get as many “likes,” but how important are Facebook likes–especially if we are only facebook-liked for the mask that we dared to reveal?

“You can please some of the people some of the time all of the people some of the time and some of the people all of the time, but you can never please all of the people all of the time.” –  Abraham Lincoln

Herein lies the key: If you try to please all of the people all of the time, you have elected to stand for nothing yourself.  To stand for something is to get off the fence–to get out of the middle of the road.

Standing in the middle of the road is very dangerous; you get knocked down by the traffic from both sides. – Margaret Thatcher

If you just set out to be liked, you would be prepared to compromise on anything at any time, and you would achieve nothing.– Margaret Thatcher

“I believe in getting into hot water; it keeps you clean.” – Gilbert Keith Chesterton

For me, blogging is preferable to posting on facebook. I do still check in on facebook, and WordPress shares what I write with Facebook, but Facebook is not where I go to attempt communication. When I truly want to communicate, I do more than post a cute little saying. I talk. Some people listen and some people do not. Honestly, if my Facebook friends do not hear me when I blog, I have actually lost nothing at all. They weren’t hearing the real me before–either. They were only seeing my mask.

Your Most Important Online Friend Is Yourself

The bottom line is that NO one wants to read every thought that we have–not on Facebook or on a blog site either. Other people are busy, and they are involved in their own worlds and its thoughts–or lack thereof.  The bottom line is that we need to get over the need to be “liked” by others. We need to embrace the reality that the main people who need to like us is ourselves, and I simply do not like myself in a mask.

There Are Many Reasons to Blog

Perhaps Most Important:  Through Blogging, We Discover That We Are Our Own Best Companions.  

You are not writing to be liked by the web or to help the web; you are writing to be liked by yourself–t0 help yourself.  

Spend time with yourself–and Hear Yourself Think.  And then write it down. That is truly what blogging is all about.

Yes, do talk to the web–if the web is listening.  However, if the web is not listening–if it is not “liking” you, it does not matter. What really matters is that you are honest with and like yourself. Talk to yourself, say what is on your mind, listen to yourself, and then blog. Allow the rest of the chips to fall where they may.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Why Blog? Blog to Take A Stand–to be Real!

  1. Thank you very much. Oddly, I was thinking about your needing a garden today. As for the additives, I am essentially ADD. I need the extra stuff to keep me on track. Have a great holiday.

    Like

Leave a Reply

