Welcome to My New Free WordPress Theme Sequential

1

For the past 3 weeks, I have been on a mad dash, searching for what I believe will be my Free WordPress Theme for a While: Sequential.

If you have been reading this blog for any time at all, you know that I post often and that I post a lot of “stuff” every time that I post. Other than that, I have several other blog sites that I tend to manage through this site.  For that reason, many of the other free themes were no longer working for me.

Allow me to tell you what I find to be desirable about Sequential.

I like Sequential’s Wide, Spacious Viewing Area.
In the image below, the left 2/3 is the viewing area and the right 1/3 is the widget sidebar.

2bigview

__________________________________________

There is plenty of room for a wide posting area on the left and a large sidebar that allows a spacious presentation of the widgets–including Image Widgets. 

AgainIn the image below, the left 2/3 is the viewing area and the right 1/3 is the widget sidebar.

4

________________________________________

Notice that even when the text becomes lengthy, it is not jumbled and difficult to read. I rarely have text that is unbroken by images. In fact, I only did so [as shown below] to illustrate that text needs images.

AgainIn the image below, the left 2/3 is the viewing area and the right 1/3 is the widget sidebar.

3

______________________________________

I initially thought that I might need 2 sidebars, but because my posts are normally fairly long and because the widgets run all along the side of the posts, there is plenty of room with one sidebar, which means that the display seems spacious.

In seeking a new, free theme, I tried several formats. I decided that for my blog to work well, I need the following and Sequential provides:

  • I need a top menu area. Believe it or not, some themes do not have a top menu readily available.
  • I also wanted a sidebar, and that seems to be less available now, too.
  • I like the Header area on Sequential. I did add my own image, and I opted for the gray background and not the blue. The blue was the default background.
  • Another thing that I realize to be essential now, Sequential is a Responsive theme. Responsive themes adjust to fit the screens on which your blog is being viewed. I do not believe that I’ll ever use another theme that is not responsive. Unresponsive themes dissect your images and become impossible to read on cell phones.
  • Because I am a visual person and because my images are an essential part of the way that I make my blog posts appealing, I like for the theme to open with the image of the posts showing.
  •  Before I found Sequential, I spent a day in Gateway’s camp. Gateway also has the wide, spacious, responsive format, but when you open a site in Gateway, you see no post images at all–you only see the titles of the blog posts. I am firmly convinced that the majority of readers scan sites via images, and when the images do not show, that potential is eliminated.
  • I like my text to be black and for it to be read on a white background. The text on Sequential is gray, but the situation is better than it was on Gateway, where the grayed text is displayed on a gray background. It was hardly readable.
  • This is really getting down to brass tacks, but I like that the Edit button on Sequential is at the top of the post and EASY for ME to find. I almost never found the Edit button on Gateway, and I hate to scroll to the bottom of the post, every time that I want to add a comma.

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Welcome to My New Free WordPress Theme Sequential

Leave a Reply

