Let Them Eat Cake – Writing Prompt -Describe Your Most Memorable Thanksgiving Dessert

pumpkin-pie-520655_640

Vegetables are a must on a diet. I suggest carrot cake, zucchini bread, and pumpkin pie. – Jim Davis

Writing Prompt: Describe the Thanksgiving Dessert that Most Stands Out to You. Why Was that Dessert a Stand Out?

Last week, I had a Diwali  party for an art class filled with 11 and 12-year-olds. We had several desserts. Brownies always seem to be a hit with kids, but I also bought a carrot cake. I didn’t think that it would be eaten. Carrot cake and several of the other fall desserts are spicy, and I do not think of them as particularly kid-friendly. I was surprised that the carrot cake was devoured.

Thanksgiving is little more than a week away, and as I begin thinking about all things Thanksgiving, I begin to lick my lips for warm pumpkin pie topped with homemade whipped cream that begins to melt and run a bit, just as it touches the pie’s surface. I do love carrot cake, too, and one Thanksgiving, I could not get enough of a pumpkin cake and cream cheese roll. There is something about pumpkin that seems to beg for cream cheese.

In thinking about Thanksgiving and desserts, however, I must say that the memory that most stands out is that of the first year after my marriage.

My ex-husband and I joined his family for Thanksgiving. The meal was adequate and finally, it was time for dessert.  Plates were taken away and saucers of pumpkin pie were returned.  Everyone took their first bites of pie and whoa! Faces fell. Mouths twisted, and everyone silently  glanced around the table.

This was not pumpkin pie! It was a disaster, in pumpkin pie’s clothing.

Apparently, the cook had mistakenly used salt, where the recipe called for sugar. No doubt, my pumpkin pie tradition had been tilted off balance, and everyone was left wanting for dessert that year. Yet, in looking back, the memory always makes me smile and chuckle–just a bit.

It takes all kinds of experiences to create a life. Some of the experiences are so great that they are skyscrapers. Some of the experiences dip into the depths of hell; but in the long run, when we begin to sort things out and take another peek, we realize that it is not always life’s greats that we most remember.

Writing Prompt: Think about the Thanksgiving desserts that you have had. Which most stands out to you. [Do not write about the meal itself. That is fodder for another day]. Write about your memorable Thanksgiving link and post a link to your post in my comments box.

9 thoughts on “Let Them Eat Cake – Writing Prompt -Describe Your Most Memorable Thanksgiving Dessert

  1. We have shared some wonderful Thanksgiving together but yes you are right that the great ones are not the most remembered. We were at your house putting finishing touches on our feast when I received the call that my Dad was dying. It could have been yesterday in my mind. Keep writing!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That makes me cry. I remember that like yesterday, too. That was the Thanksgiving that I knew that my dining room was built for hobbits. This time of year, I always long to bake turkey and dressing for all of us–one more time. Have a wonderful holiday. And, as always, thank you for your friendship. Much love, Jacki

    Like

Leave a Reply

