I Am Thankful – Henry David Thoreau – Free Writing Prompt with Picture Prop

thanksgiving-482977_640

I cannot say that I am certain about the extent of my faith nor of my religious devotion, but I am often reminded of the scripture: “Pray without Ceasing.”

I will not even begin to tell people that I read my Bible every day, and I do not have an established time to pray, but at least once a day, I find myself uttering, “Thank You, God.”

Perhaps, I simply found my keys–just in time.

Perhaps, I had just enough money in my bank account–to get my car out of the shop.

Perhaps, I simply found my dog, who I was convinced had been stolen.

Perhaps, Perhaps, Perhaps….

It continues–all day, every day.

Once I said that I have an Emergency Religion. When things go terribly wrong, I definitely remember to pray.

Yet, on the other hand, I utter “Thank You, God,” all day long.

Perhaps I would not pass through the eye of most people’s religious needles, but I do know that there is a God, and I am thankful.

I am grateful for what I am and have. My thanksgiving is perpetual. – Henry David Thoreau

A Free Writing Prompt for You: What makes you grateful? How do you say, “Thanks”?

3 thoughts on “I Am Thankful – Henry David Thoreau – Free Writing Prompt with Picture Prop

Leave a Reply

