2015 Statistics Prove the Importance of Images in Pulling Readers toward Your Blog

Autumn scene. Fall. Trees and leaves in sun light

Because I essentially have 3 masters’ degrees, which include 1 in visual art and 1 in English–with emphasis in writing, I have some very strong opinons as to which is the more attention-getting device–the image or the word. But I wanted to add some power to my punch and did some investigating. Consider the facts that I discovered at the following post:

 17 Stats You Should Know About Visual Content Marketing Here

Allow me to present you with a brief overview:

“…marketers who are leveraging visual content are seeing significant increases in their blog traffic, social media engagement, visitor-to-lead conversion rates and inbound customer acquisition results.”

“Tweets with images receive 18% more clicks, 89% more favorites and 150% more retweets.”

“70% of marketers plan to increase their use of original visual assets in 2015”

“Over the last 12 months almost every major social network, including Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn and Instagram have increased the prominence and importance of visual content. Keeping pace with this trend, several research studies conducted over the course of 2014 point to the rather amazing effectiveness of visual content for social media.” http://blog.hubspot.com/marketing/visual-content-marketing-strategy

Because I was essentially paid to get my MA in English, I earned that degree first. As I sat before the graduate committe to earn my second MA in visual art, a professor said to me, “You already have one MA, why do you want another?”

My quick and simple reply was [and still is]: “Because A Picture’s Worth 1,000 Words.”

Obviously, I continue to write; therefore, I still believe that one’s best approach is to add writing to images and to present the 2 as a harnessed team.

With that being said, let’s do an experiment. The following slide says essentially the same as the top slide, but it is totally text.

Autumn scene. Fall. Trees and leaves in sun light

Be honest with yourself. I 150 tweets were flying toward you and you had a choice whether to glance at the bottom tweet or the top, which would you choose?

Keep in mind that with social media, you only have a split second that you MIGHT make contact with a random searcher or tweeter or facebook seeker. Before you open that split-second window of opportunity you need to have both guns bazing.

I wrote a simple poem and illustrated it withGoogle images. Take a peek and consider the impact that is possible, essentially because of the images

See Poem Illustrated with Google Images: Jacki Kellum:

This is an example of a common daily schedule that I took the time to enhance with Google Images: Schedule

Your first thought might be: Why bother? That is just a basic, silly schedule? To that, I would retort – Why would I put my schedule in a blog, in the first place?

Those of us who are trying to build a social platform to support our writing and/our art, post silly things like schedules, hoping that it might catcy the eye of someone new. If that was your reason for posting the schedule anyway, then, certainly take another hour and make your schedule worth bothing to see.

There is nothing much more boring to me than genealogical records. Not only are they mere text, but they are sets of metre text that is written poorly. They have no life and/or energy at all. While this is not a genealogical record, it is a rather dull account that my great aunt wrote before she died. She would be well over 100 now, and people wrote differently then. I would like to use some of this data in my memoir. See how basic facts can be jazzed up with Google images: Dull Facts with Images 

followjackiarnica300

Copyright Jacki Kellum October 28, 2015

All Rights Reserved

2 thoughts on “2015 Statistics Prove the Importance of Images in Pulling Readers toward Your Blog

Leave a Reply

