How to Use Google Keyword Planner to Raise Search Engine Optimization Statistics – Jacki Kellum How to Increase SEO

google-seo-440

It might often seem that Google is out to “get” us or that if we want to be seen on the Gooogle search pages, we need to fool everyone–including Google. That could not be further from the truth. Just think about it: It is in Google’s best interest that WE are found on the Internet–via their Search Engine, and because of that fact, Google has provided tools to help our sites become better searched.

Print

Steven Levy offers evidence that the following statistics that Google and SEO are still important for those of us who are attempting to be viewed on the web. Here

1 Trillion Served

It was a rare sighting of a queries-per-day figure presumably from Google, which had search executives quoted extensively in the story. At 3 billion queries per day, that has Google doing 90 billion per month or 1.1 trillion searches per year.

The sophisticated Google Keyword tool can help you increase yours STATS

I had not used this tool for at least 2 years and I have been writing feverishly all month and have not been using keywords in all the ways that I should have.

I’ll take you through the process step by step

  1. Click on the Keyword Planner link The Free Google Keyword Planner can be found here.
google_keyword_tootl
How to Use the Google Keyword Planner Tool Step 1

2. In the Search Window, beneath the word Option, enter the word or word phrase for which you want to see Google’s search statistics. I entered Depression Era

google_keyword_tool
How to Use Google Keyword Planner Step 2

The chart tells me 2 important tools. If I hover over the last tab, I’ll see that during the month of September 2015, the phrase Depression Era was searched 1900 times. That is not good. I also saw that the interest in the Depression Era has been steadily waning over the past year–with only a bit of an increase in September.

3. I decided to try another search term and just entered the word “Depression.”

Kaboom! That word was searched 5,601,850 times. I thought that I had reached mecca–until I did a bit more investigation and discovered that Google was talking about an emotional illness; and I was talking about a period in history. Be certain that you and Google are talking about the same thing.

4. I then entered the word 1920s and saw that 5,400 had searched that term in September, and I also saw that the interest in that topic is declining. That makes sense. the 1920s Depression era is a time of nostalgia for people who are fairly old now, and that generation is not as active on the Internet as younger generations are.

5. I entered the word 1950s and saw that 33,100 had searched the 1950s in September. That also makes sense. Now, the baby boomers are the ones getting older and more nostalgic, and the baby boomers are quite active on the Internet.

6. This presents a bit of a conundrum for me. I am writing a Memoir that will reflect the tales of my 1950s childhood, and I am also relating tales from my parents’ 1920s childhood. In addition, I’ll be adding snippets from my great aunt’s memoir, and she was a child in the 1890s. The word that is a common denominator for these areas is the word Memoir.

7. I searched the word Memoir and saw that 60,500 people had searched that term in September and that the trend is rising.

This tells me that Memoir is still of interest to people. It also tells me to include the word Memoir every place that I can, when I am blogging. That will help Google find what I write.

©Jacki Kellum October 25, 2015

 

4 thoughts on “How to Use Google Keyword Planner to Raise Search Engine Optimization Statistics – Jacki Kellum How to Increase SEO

Leave a Reply

