Things I’d Just As Soon You Not Know about Me – Jacki Kellum Memoir

The Apolstle Paul said, “I buffet myself daily..” *

Wow! Those words are ringing loud and clear to me today. Paul was saying that he continuously checked himself, making sure that he was not guilty of many of the sins that he preached so earnestly against. I maintain a fairly decent blog, advising others about how to get their writing done, out there, etc., and where am I with my own work?

But as far as religion goes: Although I grew up in a fairly strict Southern Baptist home, I must say that I don’t pay enough attention to my religous self now as I should.

One of the things that I wish you did not know about me: I haven’t been to church all year.

Read what My Mother Said about the Traveling Baptist Preachers in Our Family What My Mother Said

That being said, I must say that while I don’t buffet myself enough about my slovenly religious practices, I am quite aware of MANY other ways that I am not up to par.

One of the things that I wish you did not know about me: I hate to diet and exercise.

Last night, I was surfing the Net, looking for lovely places that I might go–for Writer’s Retreats. Of course, I cannot afford to go to the movies–much less go on a writer’s retreat–but I do love to dream.

[One of the things that I wish you did not know about me: I am a financial travesty; and I dream too much]

But back to my dreamily browsing for an ideal writer’s retreat, I saw one that seemed perfect, but it was a combo Yoga and Writing Retreat. I actually sat and wondered, “Would I HAVE to do Yoga?”

Probably my worst habit, however, has to do with my lack of good housekeeping skills.

Too many times I have told my readers that I have finally returned to the project of co-writing my 89-year-old mother’s and my memoir: What My Mother Said. I began that project 13 years ago and I have begun a bezillion projects since then. Those projects are hiding some fairly good writing that I have already done on this subject, but I just cannot seem to put my hands on it.

Copyright Jacki Kellum October 24, 2015

All Rights Reserved

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Trick Questions.”

*Paul’s quote:in a more modern translation:

1 Corinthians 9:27 21st Century King James Version (KJ21)

27 But I keep control of my body, and bring it into subjection, lest that by any means, when I have preached to others, I myself should be a castaway

6 thoughts on “Things I’d Just As Soon You Not Know about Me – Jacki Kellum Memoir

  1. This is so good. Funny, open, honest. Quite the combination to achieve. But then I relate to a lot of it, too. Started projects, still unfinished (or un-progressed). Lack of interest in housekeeping (or lack of doing it, anyway). And I’ve not been to church regularly for a while, either. I go when friends invite me to something special. But I worked for a church and was terribly used. So I do have that gun-shy instinct now. Still, not enough of an excuse. I like Christianity; I haven’t given that up. And I respect other religious traditions. But in many ways I need to do better. I guess that’s we keep telling ourselves. Yes, I dream about a writer’s retreat as well. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

