Improve Your Blog Site’s Navigation to Increase Search Statistics – Jacki Kellum How to Increase Your SEO

Increase Google SEO Statistics
How to Increase Google Statistics & SEO

When I first began blogging, I was forced to focus on my blog site’s appearance and simply what I would say and how. I have been blogging two years now, and I have some writing that I want the world to discover. It is time for me to widen my net–LITERALLY!

I discovered an outstanding pdf that explains SEO or Search Engine Optimization, and how to increase one’s searchability in Google. The pdf is an official Google publication. Therefore, I feel that it should be the last word on how to be better seen via Google search: http://static.googleusercontent.com/media/www.google.com/en//webmasters/docs/search-engine-optimization-starter-guide.pdf

The guide is a bit dense; today, I’ll summarize what the guide says about the importance of your naviagation structure.

improve_blog_site_navigation
Improve Your Navigation to Improve Your SEO

In the early days of the Internet and websites, the navigation normally appeared as a set of tabs, stretched across the top or the side of the website. By clicking on one of the tabls, a viewer could go to separate pages, where page-specific information was located.

Most often, the early tabs looked like file folders, and the folder that had been selected would be highlighted.

Again, the navigation might be on the side and not on the top.

The navigation of a website is important in helping visitors quickly find the content they want. It can also help search engines
understand what content the webmaster thinks is important. Although Google’s search results are provided at a page level, Google also likes to have a sense of what role a page plays in the bigger picture of the site.

All sites have a home or “root” page, which is usually the most frequented page on the site and the starting place of navigation for many visitors. Unless your site has only a handful of pages, you should think about how visitors will go from a general page (your root page) to a page containing more specific content.

Here is how the navigation of my jacki kellum blog site is established:

edda_menu_wordpress_navigation
Jacki Kellum Navigation, Using the Free WordPress Blog Theme Edda

Although I do have navigation tabs on my jacki kellum blog site, they are hidden from view, beneath the word menu – on the right of the page: As far as the viewer is concerned, this is not a great setup.

eddamenuarrow

An inexperienced reader may have difficulty finding my navigation, but as far as Google and SEO are concerned, I do have a clear navigation, with separate pages and sub-pages.

eddamenu2

The About Page simply introduces me to my readers:

EDDAABOUT

After the reader selects the About page [or any other], he must click on the X to the left of the word Menu.

edda_menu_about_jacki_kellum

There are no sub-pages to the About tab, but the Jacki Kellum Memoirs does have sub-tabs are nested naviagation. At this time, this is how the Jacki Kellum Memoirs Navigation is set up.

edda_menu_jacki_kellum_memoir

The page Jacki Kellum Memoir is a type of Home page just for the other Memoir pages beneath it,

Jacki Kellum Memoir Top of the Memoir Navigation is Here

Beneath the Jacki Kellum Memoir Group, I have sub-pages, as follows:

Momdadvintage

Jacki Kellum Memoir – What My Mother Said is a team effort memoir between my 89-year-old mother and me.

What My Mother Said

calicocotton

Jacki Kellum Memoir – Calico Cotton is my memory of my grandmother and her house, when I was a child.

Calico Cotton

Jacki Kellum Memoir – When Cotton Was King is the story of my childhood in the rural cotton-growing Bootheel area of Southeast Missouri

When Cotton Was King

At this time, that is all that is under the sub-heading Jacki Kellum Memoirs. The next sub-heading [beneath Home] is 

Jacki Kellum Picture Books. Currently, that section is not created effectively. I have several picture book manuscripts under one page. To make things clearer, each should have its separate page.

Jacki Kellum Picture Books

Do you have enough pages around a specific topic area that it would make sense to create a page describing these related pages (e.g. root page -> related topic listing -> specific topic)? Do you have hundreds of different products that need to be classified under multiple category and subcategory pages? A breadcrumb is a row of internal links at the top or bottom of the page that allows visitors to quickly navigate back to a previous section or the root page (1). Many breadcrumbs have the most general page (usually the root page [or Home]) as the first, left-most link and list the more specific sections out to the right.

tulips1 (1)

My next root page, beneath the main root page [Home] is Jacki Kellum Garden Songs Garden Songs

july13c

Although my site is not ready for prime time, I have a sub group to that, and it is merely about my own garden, which inspires a great deal of my writing and my painting. Jacki Kellum Garden

12002748_10207654459302616_4466042408954541378_nadj2

Cherub Child
by Jacki Kellum

Cherub child, concrete-gray,
Bow your head, bless me, pray.

‘Neath your wings, let me stay,
Walk with me, each day.

Copyright Jacki Kellum October 11, 2015

thanksgiving

Another Page or Sub-Link beneath Home is Jacki Kellum Water Color Gallery Gallery

2 thoughts on “Improve Your Blog Site’s Navigation to Increase Search Statistics – Jacki Kellum How to Increase Your SEO

Leave a Reply

