A Tribute to My Mother’s Great Aunt Mildred Dunscomb Curry Who Inspired the Jacki Kellum Memoir

I am probably as fortunate as any who would endeavor to write my memoir. As many know, I interviewed my mother 13 years ago, and I have her actual words, describing her childhood and subsequent life. My mother often refers to her favorite Aunt Mildred Dunscomb Curry. In review, when my mother was 6-years-old, her mother was diagnosed with tuberculosis and spent most of the remaining 2 years in a sanitorium and then died.

This was the Depression and most people were poor; my mother’s childhood was beyond poor. She was shifted from one place to another to live. She often lived at her grandmother’s house, where her Aunt Mildred Curry was living, and where her favorite cousin Omar Craig was also living.

What My Mother Said about Her Grandmother’s House: Her Grandmother’s House

What My Mother Said about Her Aunt: My Mother’s Aunt

What My Mother Said about Her Cousin: Her Cousin

Check out more of my mother’s memories: What My Mother Said

Several years ago, my mother’s favorite Aunt Mildred Curry wrote an extensive family biography, and named it: Opening A Window to the Past. It was because of that biography that I initially became interested in capturing my mother’s memories and also in doing more genealogical research. 

For the next few days, I’ll be recording things that my Great Aunt Mildred Curry wrote in her biography. That part of the Memoir will be named: What My Great Aunt Said. Be watching for that to develop.

First, I want to officially thank my great aunt for helping my mother, when she was a child. I also want to thank my mother’s cousin, who she dearly loves–to this day [and after his passing away].

6 thoughts on “A Tribute to My Mother’s Great Aunt Mildred Dunscomb Curry Who Inspired the Jacki Kellum Memoir

Leave a Reply

