What My Mother Said

CottonChild

In 2002, I asked my mother, who is currently almost 89-years-old, some questions.  For several years, I have hesitated to share any of what my mother said to me.  Even though my mother had an austere childhood during the Depression; and although for years, she essentially had no home–she has survived as a very proud person.

Yesterday, I re-read what my mother said 13 years ago; and although some of her childhood was brutal, she does not whine. Rather, she always seems to reflect from a positive side.

What My Mother Said is a series of posts that are mostly written, using my mother’s actual words.

It’s Time to Hear from 3 Strong Women from the Bootheel of Missouri

What My Mother Said about the Baptist Preachers in Our Family

My Family Is Related to Some of the First Families Who Settled in Virginia – the William Claiborne Line

What My Mother Said About Her Relatives and Dancing at Her House

What My Mother Said about Her 1920.s Linoleum Rugs

What My Mother Said about Her 1920’s Victor Victrola

What My Mother Said About Her Mother and Mickey Mouse

What My Mother Said About Her Grandmother’s Home

What My Mother Said about Her 1920’s Childhood Games

What My Mother Said about the Christmas She Got a Doll

What My Mother Said about Her Easter that Was Lavender

What My Mother Said about Her Youth When She Lived Alone in a Hotel

st.louisstreetcar

What My Mother Said about the Summer She Worked in St. Louis

What My Mother Said about Working in a World War II Munitions Factory

Momdadvintage

What My Mother Said about VJ Day and Marrying My Dad

What My Mother Said about My Dad’s Honey Business

What My Mother Said about My Dad’s Immigrant Parents

The Amish People Remind Me of My German Ancestry

My Dad Is the Wizard of Oz

snackbar

What My Mother Said about the Snack Bar that They Owned

custardstand

What My Mother Said about — Dadgum! I Plum Forgot!

What My Mother Said about Pretentious People and Politics

One thought on “What My Mother Said

Leave a Reply

