What My Mother Said about Her 1920s Victor Victrola

In telling about the parties at her childhood home, my 89-year-old mother said the following about their Victrola, which sounds to me as though it might have been the Victor Victrola. Here is what my mother said about her family’s Victrola:

“I can recall many times that we three [my mother, her brother, and her sister] would hide behind doors and watch the parties. …

“In order to have good music, my folks early on bought a Victrola.  They had to wind it up, so someone had to usually be on hand to crank the music up (before electricity—in the country). ….

“You asked about the Victrola.  I have no idea what name brand it was.  But, you must remember my Dad bought no junk.  If there was a better one out there, he bought it.  For instance, we were the first country kids on the block to have a fuel-injected refrigerator. No really, it was powered with fuel oil or gas or something and piped in.  This was while I was still in high school, way back there.  We could have ice cream every day!!!

“Anyway, the Victrola was an upright model, floor model, or whatever they were called.  It has a turntable on one side of the interior, and a place for records in waiting on the other.  A really beautiful piece of furniture.  Another reason why I believe people came to our house as opposed to us going to theirs.  They were devious, these people of mine.  There was a crank on one side (on the outside) and it had to constantly be cranked up.  Nobody seemed to mind because there was no alternative.  And I wonder to this day where … they went to find records.  You will have to realize the towns were few and far between. And no way to get to them except a slow crawl Ford model car.

“But as I think of it, I am sure they mail ordered them.  Probably from Sears.  Mother got most of our clothes (and Hank said his mother did, too) from Sears.

“Can’t you just picture this? All these grownups, gathering around to listen to this box and really getting with it to dance?  I think is is hilarious!  Great, too!  But I can well remember it, from behind the door.”

_________________________________________________________________

Again, I love the way that my mother expressed the following:  “I can well remember it, from behind the door.”

I can visualize my mother, as a child, and her siblings, peeking from behind the door.  I feel that one of the things sorely lacking today is the mystery and the excited peekings of children.  No doubt, kids today don’t have to peek.  Too much information slams them in the face.

I have begun to collate some of the things that my 89-year-old mother has said, over the years.

In 2002, I asked her some questions.  I have begun a 3-Way Memoir, where I’ll record some of my mother’s responses.  I hope to have the memoir published for my mother’s 90th birthday on December 6, 2015.

Copyright Jacki Kellum October 16, 2015

All Rights Reserved

3 thoughts on “What My Mother Said about Her 1920s Victor Victrola

Leave a Reply

