Carpe Diem – Don’t Fritter the Day Away!

Forever is composed of nows. – Emily Dickinson

I Am a Morning Person; I Create in the Morning. On especially productive days, I exhaust the really creative part of myself early; but there is plenty of time to perform important tasks, but before I do anything, I take time to say, “Hello.”

Say Hello

Even though I spend the bulk of my morning writing, I always begin the day with social media—not in trying to elevate myself financially and/or by trying to make new conquests, but by just seeing what is happening—checking in—saying hello to myself. I don’t take long; I just check my emails, my Facebook page, and my Stats. That will give me some idea of who has dropped by. My initial morning hello is like splashing my face with water. After that, I begin writing.

Life is what you make it. Always has been, always will be.
– Eleanor Roosevelt

WordPress Daily Prompt

By the time that I have splashed my face and drunk a cup of coffee, the WordPress Daily Prompt is usually posted. Even if I am already working on another project, I take time to write in response to the Daily Prompt. I have discovered that I often twist the topic to wrap itself around something that I am already considering or doing, but the prompt forces me to adjust a bit. It blows me out of my rut and allows me some fresh insight. You might like to try it: https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/

Use Social Media

After I post my writing to the daily prompt, I Tweet it, post it to Facebook, and then post it to Google+.  I am even surprised at how many people respond to my use of these shares. Within minutes, people begin to click on the posts. In fact, some days, sharing something is like putting a piece of watermelon out on a hot summer day, and sharing often draws a large number of visitors. Some people read the posts and ‘like” them, and some do not. Regardless, many people are reminded that you are still there.

Trip the Light Fandango

Writing poetry taxes my brain more than any other writing that I do. Writing poetry is more than a mere stating of the obvious. It is a weaving of words. If I don’t already have an idea, I look at my memoir, and I exapand one of the phrases into a poem. https://jackikellum.wordpress.com/?s=I+LIKE+TO+WEAVE

Use Social Media

After writing each poem, I Tweet it, post it to Facebook, and then post it to Google+.

Work on my Memoir or Paint

If I am not too terribly exhausted, I usually begin writing on my memoir next and/or I might begin working on an illustration.

Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Learn as if you were to live forever. – Mahatma Gandhi —

A Time to Learn

Our brains are like banks. Creating is like drawing huge amounts of resources from our bank-brains. I try to spend part of my tired time in just surfing the web–learning new things–researching old ideas. Quite often, I find something to share, and I post my finding and again, use social media.

Carpe Diem means Seize the Day! But it is important that we take a moment and define for ourselves what we mean when we say that we seize our days.

I love the following thoughts:

You must live in the present, launch yourself on every wave, find your eternity in each moment. Fools stand on their island of opportunities and look toward another land. There is no other land; there is no other life but this. – Henry David Thoreau

Cherish your solitude. Take trains by yourself to places you have never been. Sleep out alone under the stars. Learn how to drive a stick shift. Go so far away that you stop being afraid of not coming back. Say no when you don’t want to do something. Say yes if your instincts are strong, even if everyone around you disagrees. Decide whether you want to be liked or admired. Decide if fitting in is more important than finding out what you’re doing here. Believe in kissing. – Eve Ensler

4 thoughts on “Carpe Diem – Don’t Fritter the Day Away!

  1. I love seeing this! It’s always great to see how other writers and artists structure their days. I’m inspired to write a post about mine… Thanks for sharing! By the way – I’m a prompt person, too. 🙂 It’s like stretching before running and gets the creative juju moving in the right direction for me.
    Katherine

    Like

  2. I truly enjoy reading your narrative. Here and elsewhere. it’s a way to learn about you and also a look into the productive patterns someone else has and follows. I don’t seem to have any problems, which I’m sure is not true. But any routine is always prime for revision if not destruction, based on what actually takes place in the day (or before it). I tell my spiritual director that I think I’m undisciplined about spiritual discipline. I think he disagrees, and I do what contemplative people are supposed to do. But more often than not it seems it gets realized in widely irregular ways. So I enjoy reading about someone not like me, who’s productive in a more planned, positive, and enjoyable way. Thanks!

    Like

  3. Oh, please do not believe that I am always this disciplined. You must read the whole package. I go through long, very unproductive periods. I am almost manic-depressive. When I am good, I am very good; but when I am bad, I am horrid. Thank you for having the fortitude to read my babble.

    Like

Leave a Reply

