They Took Some Honey and Plenty of Money

Owl & Pussy-cat

Just last night, I posted Edward Lear’s Owl and the Pussy-cat on my blog site. Ben Huberman had asked the poetry class to spend the weekend reading poetry and finding their favorite poems to share. After reading a great deal of adult poetry, I remembered that I actually don’t like adult poetry. I often find that adult poetry is obscure–a labyrinth of words–like verbal masturbation. I am smart enough to get it, but I just don’t understand why. I guess it is because I want my own poetry to be more delightful.

I have wasted much of my life in various stages of depression. Fortunately, when I am extremely depressed, I don’t do any art at all. When I break from the walls of a depessive state, I want to shout my joy to the rooftops. I want to pick up my heels and dance. Most of my poetry has become the words that I find to express that absolute joy. I tend to blog the other feelings in more of a long song, but for me, poetry is a dance, and not the Dance of the Macabre.

In seeking to find a poem to share with my poetry class, I flipped from one poet’s work to another, I fell upon Edward Lear’s Owl and the Pussy-cat. Ahhhhhhhhhh! There it was. Joy through words.

They took some honey, and plenty of money—what more could anyone want.  Honey and money–the sweet stuff of life and enough money to pay the bills: that is more than enough for me, and that is what my poetry is about–the essence of what has become enough for me.

I am also a visual artist, and I primarily paint with watercolor. Many times, I have said that watercolor is the poetry of visual art. It is the very essence–the most pure of emotion, distilled until it has as few strokes as possible. It is light and airy. I might add that my paintings are also colorful. Those are the things that I seek in poetry: light, air, and color. Oh, Lord, I need to breathe, and I use my watercolor and my poetry to do just that.

This was a timed writing for a WordPress Daily prompt.  I could say more, but this has been my 15 minutes of fame–at least for now.

Here is the entire Owl and the Pussy-Cat poem: https://jackikellum.wordpress.com/2015/10/10/the-owl-and-the-pussy-cat/

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Can’t Drive 55.”

5 thoughts on “They Took Some Honey and Plenty of Money

Leave a Reply

