Dare to Learn Something New – Dare to Draw – Dare to Paint – Dare to Dance

“For it is intuition that improves the world, not just following a trodden path of thought.” – Albert Einstein

I just saw an article about the fixed minset–as opposed to the open–or growth minset.  Perhaps the words speak to me now because I am finally allowing myself the time, money, energy, and the risk of exposure required to LEARN to dance–at the age of 65.  I am allowing myself to travel a path that until now, for me, was untrodden–to explore another realm of my own intuition.

“Intuition is the father of new knowledge, while empiricism is nothing but an accumulation of old knowledge. Intuition, not intellect, is the ‘open sesame’ of yourself.” – Einstein

“Indeed, it is not intellect, but intuition which advances humanity. Intuition tells man his purpose in this life.” – Einstein

I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination.  Imagination is more important than knowledge.  Knowledge is limited. Imagination encircles the world.” – Albert Einstein

“Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new.” – Albert Einstein

In an effort to be safe, people with a fixed mindset learn a few things well and lock themselves on a fixed stage where they can shine–doing those few things well.  Learning something new threatens the safety of those stages–those fixed, constrictive cages that the fixed have allowed to form around themselves.  What a waste of the much larger stage offered by the unused stage just beyond the cage!

I recognize that far too long, I have allowed myself the security of a cage.  I am daring to leap beyond its stifling, strangling straps.  Join me.  Dare to Learn Something New!  Dare to Grow! Dare to Draw! Dare to Paint! Dare to Dance!

Leave a Reply

