Adobe Photoshop and Flash Tutorial 1 – Comparing the Work Spaces of Two Adobe Programs

I came into the Adobe Wonderland very late in my career; and I do not have the edge that kids today have.  Kids today just grow up with technology; and I do not believe that their learning curve is as steep as mine is.  Because I am trying to learn all of the Adobe programs simultaneously, I find myself becoming confused.  For the next few days, I’ll offer some very elementary overviews of some of the Adobe programs.  Today I am looking at both Flash and Photoshop as though I were seeing these programs for the first time.  I am comparing the ImageShapes Tool in both programs.  Perhaps this will help you, too.  If so, Launch your Flash Program.

On the top bar, click on the word File; then click on the word New.  Enter the following numbers in the dialog box [Afterwards, click on the word OK]:

Image

When my Flash document opens, I like to organize my space with the Tools on the Left [that is also the way that I set up my Photoshop work space].

If you do not see you the Tool Bar and/or the Timeline when you open Flash, go to the word Window on the top horizontal bar; and from the Drop Down Menu, click on the words Timeline and Tools. Image

If you are familiar with working in Photoshop, the Tools Bar, that I have docked on the left,  and the center work space, called the Stage, will look familiar.  Unique to Flash, however, is the Timeline, which lies below the Stage and looks a bit like a Piano Keyboard.

Now, let’s open a Photoshop document and compare the two programs:

Image

I am working with Cs6; and your Photoshop window may not be as dark as mine when it opens.  Again, if the Tool Bar is not open upon launching, go to Window and click on Tools.

Notice at the bottoms of both the Flash and the Photoshop Tool Bars that there are black and white squares.  In both cases, the white is the color of the fill that will be applied to whatever shape that I create next [unless I change that color].  The black is the color of the stroke.

Now, I am going to create a rectangle in both programs; but I’ll change the fill color by clicking inside the fill square–and then selecting a color from the color picker.

In both Flash and Photoshop, the Shapes tool rests immediately beneath the Text tool.  In both programs, there is a drop down menu; and other shapes are hiding beneath whatever tool is resting on top.  However, the hidden shape tools are not identical for both programs.

Image

ImageI prefer to draw in Photoshop because as soon as you elect to use a Tool in Photoshop, the Options bar, which is beneath the top bar, shows you all the choices being applied to what you are drawing [or in the case of Text, Typing].  For Flash, you have to search a bit for that info, which is listed in the Property Inspector.  To access properties in Flash, double click on an item that has been created [in this case, the rectangle] and a listing of the items Properties can be viewed and/or changed.

Again, Flash and Photoshop do not have identical shapes concealed beneath the Rectangle Tool.  Yet, there is also an ability to create Circles or Ovals in both programs.  The tool for doing that in Flash is called the Oval Tool; and in Photoshop, it is called the Ellipse Tool.

Image

Image

Beyond creating Circles and Rectangles, Flash and Photoshop begin to differ. The Pink Shape is the Rounded Rectangle Tool; the Heart Shape is one of Photoshop’s MANY Custom Shape Tools [I can draw almost any cartoon with the Custom Shape Tools and a few tweaks here and there]; and the green shape is the Polygon Tool.

Image

Flash has a PolyStar tool; and from that tool several different shapes can be created.

Leave a Reply

