How to Create Repeated Pattern Black and White Tile Background from Watercolor Paintings

Image

The purpose of this exercise is two-fold.  It is an introduction to my color theory; and it is also another exercise in creating repeated backgrounds.

Black and White Watercolor Checked Repeated Pattern – Photoshop Cs6

First – I never paint with Black and I rarely paint with Payne’s Gray.  I am in agreement with the Impressionists that light and dark colors should be created with pure spectrum colors [in other words, they should be created with colors on the color wheel. Black and White are not colors.]

Yellow is the lightest color on the color wheel; and purple is the darkest color.  For my white, I have washed a bit of Cadmium Yellow Light into wet paper and let it dry.  I never want purple and yellow to mix [unless I am intentionally creating a brown or a gray]; therefore, I created the black patch with Indigo and Ultramarine Blue–both washed simultaneously on a wet piece of paper.  Again I allowed that to dry.  [A note about Cadmium paints.  I never use a paint that has the word “hue” in the name.  Cadmium paints are expensive; but the hues are not alternatives.  Hues have fillers that will surely create muddy colors.]

I scanned both the yellow-painted area and the indigo-painted area and cropped squares from each in Photoshop.  I duplicated both the indigo layer and the yellowed layer and placed the second tiles so that there is the traditional 4-patch black and white tile.  Image

After that, I followed the steps that I have outlined in this post:  https://jackikellum.wordpress.com/2013/08/02/how-to-make-black-white-check-pattern-repeat-photoshop/

Have fun!.

3 thoughts on “How to Create Repeated Pattern Black and White Tile Background from Watercolor Paintings

Leave a Reply

