How to Make Scrapbook Paper or Repeated Pattern from Your Paintings

Image

Repeated Pattern of Watercolor Painting Hibiscus 2 – Using Photoshop Cs6

For many years, I have been intrigued by pattern.  It may have begun when I was a very young child, sitting at the feet of my grandmother, and collecting the fabric scraps that fell from her quilting projects.  I am quite sure that it was enhanced when I began to study Matisse‘s paintings and collages.  Since I am an older art being now, long predating Adobe, Photoshop, Illustrator, etc., I have gone through the years of creating repeated patterns by hand.

Creating a pattern by hand–with no Adobe Creative Suite–requires an incredible amount of time and work.  Two months ago, I splurged and bought my first Adobe Create Suite; and my life has changed.  I created this Repeated Pattern in Photoshop, using my watercolor painting Hibiscus 2.  Can’t you just imagine this as a background or a layer for a Photoshop collage–or to be used as scrapbook paper?  If you would like to know how to do this, let me know; and I’ll share the steps with you.

Leave a Reply

