Artists Must Not Multitask – How to Paint a Rose One Step at a Time

Image

Red Rose – Watercolor – Jacki Kellum July 2013

Multitasking prevents the focus that is essential for the painter who wants to move beyond mere brush work to the communication of a subject’s essence.” – Jacki Kellum

Several of my friends and some of my followers have mentioned my rose painting to me; and since the Little Prince is the narrative of a boy’s loving a red rose [obviously all of this that is symbolic] and since learning to paint roses was a challenge for me, I have decided to also devote the month of August to learning about and learning to draw and paint roses.

https://jackikellum.wordpress.com/2013/07/29/connecting-the-little-prince-the-invisible-essential-songs-of-innocence-and-experience-imagination-and-art/

For many years, drawing and painting roses absolutely threw me into a pit of despair.  All of the neat curls and swirls that comprise a rose were like a labyrinth to me.  Trying to draw this maze frustrated me.  My problem was that I would not take the time to break the rose down into chew-able pieces; and that is what it took for me to finally be able to draw roses.

“How do you eat an elephant? One bite at a time.” Anonymous 

Perhaps some of you can relate to this malady:  I want to do everything right now.  I want to multitask my art and rush ahead–skipping necessary steps–hoping to achieve instant results.  The type of malady that I am describing can be fatal for artists.

Artists can not multitask.

“Forget multitasking, find the beauty in doing one thing at a time.” – Anonymous

 “If you chase two rabbits, you will not catch either one.” – Anonymous

“Multitasking prevents the focus that is essential for the painter who wants to move beyond mere brush work to the communication of a subject’s essence.” – Jacki Kellum

We have become a hurried and harried generation. We are consumed by instantaneous text messaging, social media, television, surfing of the net, whipping in and out of traffic, multitasking, etc., that it is very, very difficult to keep oneself from racing along.  We want instant gratification.  We want to enjoy the prize at the end, without taking the steps necessary to reach that end.

“There is no royal road to anything, one thing at a time, all things in succession.  That which grows fast withers as rapidly; and that which grows slow endures.” – J. G. Holland

“In order to become artists, we must learn to move very slowly and deliberately.

Art is a  Way to See in the moment–and to Be in the moment.” – Jacki Kellum

As part of my Awesome, Amazingly Artistic August promises, I shall lead a Rose Safari, where we shall learning to draw and paint roses–literally one leaf, one thorn, one petal, and one rose at a time.

Leave a Reply

