Where Do You Stand? Or Do You Stand At All?

red rose July 23 2013

Red Rose – Jacki Kellum – Watercolor

For as long as I can remember, I have loved color.  To this day, I don’t like to watch black and white television. I was born in 1950; therefore, much of my youth was neutralized by black and white television.  I remember when Disney brought living color to television.  My family still had a little black and white television set; and I could have killed my friends who were now able to view in color.

One of the reasons that The Wizard of Oz was so very momentous was that it brought color to the movie screen. The first several times that I saw The Wizard of Oz, I saw it in black and white–on my family’s pitiful television set.  I still loved the movie; but imagine my delight the first time I visited the magical Munchkin Land in living color. The gray had been pulled away.  Since that time, I have stayed on the Yellow Brick Road–the Road Less Traveled–Living  Intensely–Through Color.

Needless to say, I Love Color [When It Is Used Correctly]; and I Dislike Beige.  Beige is Bland.  At Thesaurus.com, the following is said about the word “Bland.”

Main Entry:
bland  [bland]  Show IPA
Part of Speech: adjective
Definition: tasteless; undistinctive
Synonyms: banalblah*, boring,dullflat, flavorless,ho hum,humdruminsipid

. . .monotonousnothing,

unexciting, uninspiring,

uninteresting, unstimulating,

… wishy-washy, zero*

Antonyms: deliciousdistinctivesharptasty

Similar to the above chart, Beige is “blah, boring, dull, flat, flavorless, ho hum, humdrum, insipid. . .monotonous. . .nothing. . .unexciting, uninspiring, uninteresting, unstimulating. . .weak, wimpy, wishy washy, zero.  Don’t we all know people who perfectly fit this same description?  I would call these people the Beige People.  They are bland; they are wishy washy.  They ride the fence on every issue–or worse, their opinions change according to their company at the time.  The Beige People do not really talk.  They may make noises; but their words say nothing.  The Beige People merely chit chat their ways through life.

I am new on the Blog Scene; therefore, I really do not know yet how many bloggers actually talk, as opposed to the numbers who chit chat.  As for me, I cannot imagine taking the time to write a blog that was filled with nothing but feckless words.

In the current of Social Media, where being “liked” becomes the raison d’etre, there must be many bloggers who just form words–meaningless words.  Being liked has always been important for me.  During my teen years, I jumped through hoop after hoop, hoping to be liked.  Being a teenager in America inflicts scars that never heal; but in today’s America, the problem is made even worse by the vast number of people who encounter us and with the click of a mouse judge us as “likable” or not.  I wonder whether being “liked” influences what is actually said in many of the blogs being written.  I hope not, because I see blogging as a wonderful tool for achieving self-awareness; and if we blog wearing  blinders and with our mouths taped shut, we cannot possibly improve the knowing of ourselves.

I want to be liked; and I dislike, as much as anyone else, for people to disagree with me.  I do not even like the conflict of disagreeing with others; but I decided long ago that I would not be a person with no opinions.  People without opinions are like piles of mashed potatoes.  The life has been boiled and whipped out of the Mashed Potato People.  People who continuously ride the fence either have not thought deeply enough to formulate an opinion; or they are living a lie–trying to hide behind the veil of seeming to have no opinion.  We must have opinions.  We must take a stand in life.  In taking a stand, our lives can be differentiated from the faceless mob.   The only way to be meaningful in life is to let your life mean–let it actually stand–stand out.

In taking a stand, our lives can be differentiated.

In taking stands in life, we do more than exist–we mean.

“The only way to be meaningful in life is to allow your life to mean.” – Jacki Kellum

There will people who absolutely hate us for our opinions; but in taking stands in life, we offer other people more to love.   We offer them an authentic mind, words with meaning, and a heart that has a capacity to care.  Beige People do not have those things to give.  They are empty; they are flat; they are zero.  Risking being disliked by a few is essential to becoming more than Beige.

“You can please some of the people some of the time all of the people some of the time some of the people all of the time but you can never please all of the people all of the time.” – Abraham Lincoln

Herein lies the key: If you try to please all of the people all of the time, you have elected to stand for nothing yourself.  To stand for something is to get off the fence–out of the middle of the road.

“Standing in the middle of the road is very dangerous; you get knocked down by the traffic from both sides.” – Margaret Thatcher

 “If you just set out to be liked, you would be prepared to compromise on anything at any time, and you would achieve nothing.”– Margaret Thatcher

“I believe in getting into hot water; it keeps you clean.” – Gilbert Keith Chesterton

“The only way to be meaningful in life is to allow your life to mean.” – Jacki Kellum

One thought on “Where Do You Stand? Or Do You Stand At All?

Leave a Reply

