Are You the Cat or the Lie?

catlie2

“One of the most striking differences between a cat and a lie is that a cat has only nine lives.” – Mark Twain

“A lie gets halfway around the world before the truth has a chance to get its pants on.” – Winston Churchill

I began posting this blog about 3 weeks ago; but I began writing this story 63-years ago. I have chewed and chewed this content to the point that it is a fine leather–almost velvet.  Yet, this time I have to chuckle at a new perspective that I am forced to take.  This time, I am beginning to question the Romanticist–the Dreamer–Myself.

Questioning one’s own motives is not always pleasant.  Often we don’t question ourselves because we don’t want to hear the answers.  We prefer to be like the alcoholic who refuses to accept that we have any problems.  Yet, similarly, we cannot find solutions until we admit there are problems.

In reading my past several posts, it becomes obvious that I side with the Romanticists–and against the Realists.  Yet, today, I have to admit that there are two sides to every coin.  Perhaps it is because I am older now [hopefully, I got some of that promised wisdom with age], I am able to admit that the Romanticist is not perfect.. A few questions are in order.

In questioning myself, I am not questioning my continued belief that the inner–thinking–feeling person is the best path for myself; but I am questioning why the Romantics are always the evangelists–trying to convince others that they need to be like them.  I do not remember having had that thought before; but the question is valid.

I believe that the answer lies within the fact that the Romanticists are the feeling, sensitive members of society; and they cannot avoid interacting with the Realists, who cannot be be bothered by feelings or by people who try to bog them down with the same.

The Romantic is hurt and shut out by the Realist over and again; and I believe that in evangelizing, the Romanticist is trying to change others so the pain of living and functioning in the Realist’s world will be removed.   In other words, I believe that the evangelizing is not so much of an altruistic gesture as it is one of self-preservation.

Although the distinction is probably not important, I do believe that the only way to achieve understanding–the truth–is by seeing all of the cards being played.  It is especially important to know which cards that you yourself are holding.

“Nature never deceives us; it is we who deceive ourselves.” – John-Jacques Rousseau

One who knows others is clever, but one who knows himself is enlightened.”Tao Te Ching – Chapter 33

“. . . it is not throughignorance that we can solve them.” [problems] – Isaac Asimov

“One of the most striking differences between a  cat and a lie is that a cat has only nine lives.” – Mark Twain

Ask yourself:  Are You the Cat or the Lie?  There will be little or no relief until you yourself can end the lie–especially if you are lying to yourself.

“Each of us wages a private battle each day between the grand fantasies we have for ourselves and what actually happens.” – Cathy Guisewite

Leave a Reply

