Kick Fear in the Rear [Get Off of the Sidelines – Jump Into the Game]

ArnicaLupineJune2220128x8facebook

Alaskan Wild Arnica and Lupine – Painted en plein aire in Alaska – Watercolor on Arches

“You can’t build a reputation on what you are going to do.” – Henry Ford

My entire blog site could be named Don’t Do As I Do – Do As I Say Do because I myself have wasted far too many years in the land of what I am going to do.  I can assure you [from experience] that this behavior is a bed of quicksand that can swallow not only your dreams but also your entire life–at least, your life that is beyond mere existence.

Again, this is  behavior that is triggered by fear.  I have other posts about fear; but this post is about moving beyond fear and simply moving forward.  First allow me to review:

  1. Be courageous – Saddle up in spite of your fear
  2. Stop playing chicken
  3. Stop hiding behind Photoshop
  4. Learn to draw
  5. Learn to paint

Today I’m adding another one:  Get off of the sidelines and jump into the game–in other words, Just Do It.

Again, this will require that you just Kick Fear in the Rear.  Draw and paint fearlessly [you don’t have to show anyone–be willing to throw the messes away.]  When you fall, get back into the saddle and do it again–and again–and again.  Finally, you will do something that you actually like and that will be the beginning of the rest of your life.

“Go confidently in the direction of your dreams. Live the life you’ve imagined. -Henry David Thoreau
Leave a Reply

